OzIntro


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Coogee
December 17th 2008
Published: December 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So OzIntro started on the Monday. Moved out of the room we were in into one with our group, had a much better view of the sea! That day we has city orientation and jet boating. We went into the city and had the standard pictures with the bridge and opera house in the background before moving onto the botanical gardens where we stood looking stupid with our arm extended holding bread for the birds. A lot of people got birds landing on their arm, not me though unfortunately. Was funny when Mark, our leader, was going out calling for Steve the bird, we we not sure if he was joking or not! After was the jet boating. This was so much fun! It went from Circular Quay right out of the harbour and did spins, brakes and just generally made us very very wet, we were soaked! That evening we went to the Palace, a place just up the road then back to ours for a party in our dorm, room 6, it was messy due to the goon (very cheap boxed wine)!

Next day, feeling a little iffy, was back into the city for healthcare and travellers at work. Then lovely lunch and onto the wildlife place where we saw a little baby koala, I think it had just been born! That night was a mini pub crawl to the gaff, this place I had heard much about. We got free entry, free meal and free drinks which was good. It's probably slightly better than Zanzibar lol.

Next day was surfing which I missed oops. So I just chilled at the beach then went into the city and explored the shopping part. I managed to get caught in the rain that evening so ended up sheltering in some cafes!

Thursday was supposed to be the beach BBQ and the Bondi to Coogee walk but that was cancelled due to dodgy weather so we went Bowling at Randwick instead. I didn't do that well, but it was fun all the same!

Friday was the Blue Mountains trip, approx 2 hours away. That day was a wash out, literally! It rained all day long, it was just like being at home! We had a great view of . . . mist. The afternoon part was cancelled but they said we can do the trip again on a better day so that is good. Elise, Jen, Lara and I went for food at a little Italian that night then into Randwick to the cinema. We saw Australia, it was really good, I highly recommend it!

Saturday was the day of the pub crawl. That day I sorted out my plan for after the week at the OzIntro office then went into the city and met Fiona to go and see Twilight! So excited to have finally seen it. It was better that what I thought, from what I had heard so that's all good. That evening as I said was the pub crawl. 5 bars, 1 party bus, free drinks. Was good, the last place was the Gaff again, but I didn't mind by that point!

Sunday was the meal uo Sydney sky-trek tower, a very very tall revolving tower in the middle of the city. It gave great views, it was so high up! The food was good, I tried kangaroo! Saw my first possum on the way back, when we stopped for photos at the place we stopped at on out first day.

Monday was moving out day, Jocelyn picked me up in the afternoon as I was staying at her place that night. She lives just across the bridge with great views of the sea! Saw Twilight again that night with Fiona and her friend Maria, it just had to be done!

Tuesday I walked into the city over the bridge and went to Rhe Rocks, just round the corner from circular quay. Then in the afternoon I caught a flight to Melbourne.
I plan to spend Christmas and NY in Sydney and then find a job and place to live and stay there for a couple of months before starting the east coast. We had a working and travel talk one evening with OzIntro and it did make me want to travel up the coast now but I am going to do it in March, want to settle somewhere for a little while first.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

View from windowView from window
View from window

We were above a Mcdonalds, rather handy was that!


22nd December 2008

Hey kiddo, am loving your work :) Love the photos too. You look mega happy, glad you're having fun. Shame about the rain though. We had a power cut on Friday night, that was pretty mental. I read "Breaking Dawn" by candlelight - oooooh, spooky!! How long you going to be in Melbourne for?? I am just writing an essay. Yippee. Well, actually, researching it. Oy. Anyways, hope all is well, nice to see you're having lots of fun! Hope you are successful in job hunting and such like! Much love, many hugs xx
22nd December 2008

Great photos Amy

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb