Moving Along


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Port Stephens
November 14th 2006
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So the heat has finally arrived.. and let me tell you it is HOT! The sun here is so strong... after being really responsible and putting on sunscreen all day we still somehow managed to get fried our first day on the beach. We left Newcastle after only staying a couple nights at this ghetto little hostel and went to Port Stephens which was amazing.. The hostel there was right in the rainforest and we had our own little cabin with a balcony.. so cute.. The place also had a saltwater pool, a games room with a free pool table and a sweet outdoor kitchen. The people who owned it were soo nice... The weather was hot and sunny all weekend and we really liked this place so we decided to stay for 3 nights. We spent our first day there lounging on the beach and swimming in the ocean, the next day we went out on a big sailboat for a dolphin cruise.. It was so much fun.. we drank cold beer and got to sit in big nets off the front of the boat while we watched dolphins jump around in the distance listening to jack johnson playing in the background... That night we cooked a big meal and relaxed on our balcony while drinking wine.. When we were eating dinner a Cookaburrah (crazzy aussie bird) dive bombed my plate and took my whole chicken breast while I was trying to eat it... It scared the shit out of me! Everyone else thought it was pretty funny but I was really hungry and wanted to eat that so wasn't too impressed. Later that night we attempted to play pool but saw a huge spider and Dayna thought it would be funny to yell OH MY GOD right as I was going to take a shot and I think everyone in the whole place could hear my scream...I have never been so scared in my life.. so after that I refused to be in that room.. lol I guess thats what you get when you're right in the rainforest! We even saw 2 koala bears in the wild.. there was one in the tree right behind our cabin and you could see it from our balcony.. it was so adorable! The next day Dayna and I had our first surfing lesson! It was probably one of the best days of my life.. I am hooked!! We both caught on really fast.. Standing on a surfboard and riding a wave is such an amazing feeling.. It's something everyone should try at least once in thier life... I can't wait to go again -
We met this Aussie security guard who was really eager to show us around so for some reason we agreed to wake up at 6am the next day to climb a mountain so we could watch the sunrise.. After drinking a LOT of wine and beer the night before the whole waking up and climbing the mountain thing didn't seem as appealing as it did when we said we'd do it.. BUT once we got to the top it was an unbelievable view and totally worth it. Later that day, Tim (the aussie), took us to these massive sand dunes which we hiked up... I swear it felt like we were in Egypt.. It was just sand for miles and miles.. it was once again unbelievable! Each day we are seeing and doing things we've never done before and it keeps getting better and better... So far I have no complaints other than that I wish you could all be here to experience this with me!

Advertisement



15th November 2006

My Darlings!
Hey guys! I was just checking out your pictures and dairy and I still can't believe your there. Seeing the pictures really gave me the prespective of where you are and what your actually doing right now. Its totally crazy ahhhhhh! haha. Continue having fun and I love and miss you both! Wishing I was there with you, Tiffany
22nd November 2006

Wow! It sounds like you guys are starting your adventure off right! I must say that everytime I read your emails or blogs I have to wonder why the hell I am in a Hamilton Library! haha. Anyways, just wanted to let you know how much you are missed by me!! It think about you 2 all the time and can't wait to hear about all the stories when you come back... because you will come back right??!! Love you, miss you. Can't wait to hear from you again!

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb