Venturing into the outback (sort of) ...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Picton
March 16th 2016
Published: March 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,

I was going to be a teacher when I grow up, but you're allowed to change your mind a lot when you're 3 and I've now decided I will be a farmer. We just came back from 2 days at the farm near the mountains and it was the best - I made friends with goats, cows, ponies, rabbits and Farmer Steve! He picked us up in the tractor in the morning and we went with him to help him do his important jobs. First we would feed the goats, alpacas, ducks and pigs. The goats are so friendly, and I cuddled one who was skinny and a bit mangy. Farmer Steve told me a snake had bitten her and she nearly died! So I tried to feed her up to make her big and strong again. Then we went to feed the baby calf some milk because she was only 2 days old and didn't have a mummy. She wasn't very good at drinking from a bottle but she will get the hang of it soon. Then, we milked a mummy cow!!! Olivia and I both had a turn and it was so funny seeing the milk come out. It is very different milk to what we buy in the shops and makes you really big and strong. Archie the dog drank some! After that, we got to cuddle rabbits. Rabbits don't work on the farm, but they are very cute and I love cuddling them. After those jobs, we got back on the tractor and went to feed cows in field, throwing hay out of the tractor for them to eat. I loved the cows, and even cuddled a friendly one!

When all the animals had had their breakfast we got to ride the ponies. We put on hard hats and rode around a field on Jamie the pony. Mummy also went horse riding and her horse even ran fast while she sat on it! Scary! What a busy morning. Later on, the farmer also taught us how to crack a whip (we don't hit animals with it, they just use the noise to make them behave), and to throw a boomerang. I was quite good at this, mummy wasn't.

I did another new thing at the farm; we had a campfire after tea time, when it was dark, and Olivia and I toasted marshmallows on really long sticks! I burned quite a lot of mine but it was ok because I just tried again. They were squidgy and yummy. Farms are brilliant and I can't wait to be a farmer when I grow up!

That's not the only treat I've had since I last wrote my blog. Auntie Freya and Adam came to pick us up and we went to a big big park in Sydney called Centennial Park. I rode ANOTHER pony called Trixie, then we went to a special party. There were lots of different tents with different foods you could try, we had prawns and pork belly and CHOCOLATE and mummy, Freya and I did wine tasting! I am such a big girl! (NB half a drop of each for the toddler, ed.!). It was very hot in the sunshine, and when we got back in the car I fell straight asleep. Too much fun.

Mummy says we have had half our holiday, well I say that I don't miss home but I have been spending a LOT of time pretending to be Nicky my teacher and singing songs or reading stories to the other children at nursery. I do this wherever I am ... In a field, at the beach, at home... So maybe I do a bit. But Australia is really, really fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



17th March 2016

Brilliant
Sounds amazing guys, we all miss you and think that farm sounds winner! Xxxx
19th March 2016

Hello stranger !
Dear Talluah , my mummy has just read me your diary and shown me all the pics of your austrialian trip . Wow! I recognised your spotty top , thought it was funny you has two lots of snacks at the airport. I bet you liked the big rabbit.. I enjoyed the photo of you singing and dancing and was totally shocked and jealous you had chocolate for breakfast on the aeroplane . The jellyfish and all the animals you are meeting sound totally awesome. I love you Talluah . I miss you. Look forward to hearing more ! So what have I been up to ? I went to the theatre to see Peppa Pigs big surprise it was funny ...only criticism; not enough pedro ! We had a sports day at welcome house and it was sunny !? I went to Leeds to see my uncle and it snowed , we made a snowman ! I have an invite to my party when you get back, and I am getting very very excited about being 4 next month. love and light , Nova xxx

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb