Musings on the Long Trip


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Orange
July 16th 2013
Published: July 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This was my last big trip before I turned the big 3-0. And today, as I have crossed over into another decade of life, I celebrate by reflecting on the last three months.

The following are some of my musings from this trip. Enjoy!

<em style="-webkit-tap-highlight-color: rgba(26, 26, 26, 0.296875); -webkit-composition-fill-color: rgba(175, 192, 227, 0.230469); -webkit-composition-frame-color: rgba(77, 128, 180, 0.230469);">One never plays tourist in their own city!

Before I departed Australia on this trip, I had signed up for a photography course through the New York Institute of Photography. It was part of my attempt to get out of my rut. In Yosemite National Park I finally ventured into putting my camera onto manual under the guidance of the photo walk leader. In each national park after that, I tried my best to keep an eye out for interesting compositions, pay attention to the exposure meter's suggestions, and try to carefully re-create the spectacular scenery in front of me. I watched the light, got up for sunrises and stayed out for sunsets, and researched the feasibility of re-creating iconic photos we had seen. I wanted photos from this trip that I would be able to proudly display if I chose to do so later.

By the time we got to Montreal we were both exhausted. I had been mostly unable to work on the actual lesson material I had carted all across the USA, and it was obvious that I would not be getting much time to study as Dave would not be enrolling in a French course as planned. Nonetheless, early in our stay I made my list of famous monuments or places in Montreal that I wanted to photograph.

Looking at the list a month later - I did not photograph or even visit most of the places on the list. Not that Montreal isn't photogenic. It's a lovely city full of interesting things to photograph. But one usually does not play tourist at home. And that is precisely what happened over the course of the month. Although we set out in search of new cafes, there was very little else that we explored. We simply were not tourists. We relaxed and spent hours on end joining the throngs of Montrealers who laze about in the parks enjoying each moment of precious summer sunlight before it weakens again and the weather turns cold. We visited festivals, caught up with friends, and stayed out late every night. But tourists we were not.

Thus my photographer's eye didn't capture any of the "must-photograph" subjects from that list, but rather small details and scenes that I found new and exciting. The style of the photos is different from photos taken earlier in the trip. I must remember on my next trip to figure out a way to blend the two styles, no matter where I end up.

And, when not traveling, I must remember to take a camera with me as I walk around town - I should play tourist at home!

Traveling Together - it is a test!

Upon graduation from university, I wanted to run away. Three months as a solo traveller, newly graduated from university, did not even sound like a long enough trip for me. So I booked a six-month trip to Australia, hoping to see a new country and learn about not only the world around me, but also about myself as I tried to figure out what I wanted to be when I grew up. That trip became a year-long trip, followed by more traveling and little progress on the "what-to-do-with-my-life-debate".

Then I realised I was rapidly approaching 30 and wanted to run away again. So we booked a three month trip to explore the USA and visit friends and family in Quebec. And I hoped, once again, that my future would just magically reveal itself to me.

But traveling solo is not the same as traveling with someone else.

I love exploring the world with my hammock buddy - it's great fun to explore new places together. It's more fun to sip coffees in cafes, try interesting food, get lost and get photos with a travel buddy. As a solo female traveler, I never ventured out to see the night life of a new city, nor did I do much hiking. I greatly enjoy someone to share my experiences with as they happen.

But three months is a long time to travel with the same person. Two independent minds naturally will have different expectations and desires when traveling to new places. Two people may have different spending habits, different ideas of how to get from point A to point B, and different levels of enthusiasm about trying to meet up with old contacts and extended family.

Solo travel and traveling with a partner also mean completely different ways of reflecting on travel.

There is a reason that many people say that traveling together is the best (or worst) way to test your relationship!

And yes, we are still together, in case you are wondering...

Completely exhausted and mentally drained however - three months may have been too long!

Travel as a Form of Soul Searching?

As I stated above I the previous musing, I always have been, and still am, drawn to the enchanting dream of travel as a way of "finding oneself" or "figuring it all out".

However, it hasn't quite worked the way I had hoped. I always had this idea that one day while traveling, while outside of my comfort zone and away from the societal and family expectations, that my life's path would reveal itself to me. It's a lovely idea. One that I still cling to, although I haven't been visited by any muses, gurus or spirits in any of my travels, nor have I gone as far as to seek out such types of people during my travels.

So do I know what I want to be when I grow up? Or what to do with my life? It's not really crystal clear, not much more so than five years ago or ten years ago. But as I turn 30, I can reflect on the question with a little more experience and a little less fear of "getting it wrong". So has travel helped me reach this calmer approach to pondering my future?

I will say yes. Solo travel over the years has given me confidence. Traveling with others revealed to me my innate need to be social and share my experiences. And while traveling I have met interesting people and have been exposed to different ideas, cultures and ways of doing things. Which, incidentally, growing up as a "third-culture" kid, I love this.

So while now I think I have reached the point in my life that my next vacation will be a lazy vacation and not so much of an epic adventure, there will always still be a place for travel.

And so now I realise that I need not be so afraid of that "before-30 checklist". I'm ready to look at that list, comforted by the fact that I can check off these items as I am ready for them, not because of societal pressures or expectations. Car? Check - and it forced me to learn to drive manual. House? One day if we find the right one, perhaps. Kids? Maybe. I still have a few years. Dog? Well, maybe a cat, we'll see. Climbing the corporate ladder? No, not for me, thanks. Put aside money for the future? Most definitely - I want to be able to travel and have adventures for a long time to come!

And, to end this post, a bit of a laugh about getting older: 20 facts about turning 30

This blog entry is dedicated to Stuart Groom, Nuria Protopopescu, and Phil Allain. Three amazing people who each had their own infectious enthusiasm for discovery, adventure and life.

As Stuart had written on his facebook profile:

Live the life we love, Love the life we live.

Advertisement



24th September 2013

What now?
Kids? Another trip? A trip on your own or without your hubby? Or none of the above...?

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb