Far Out Man....In Nimbin!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Nimbin
February 20th 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today started off with something I haven't done for over twenty three years...waiting for a School Bus!!! I had to catch it in order to accomplish my master plan of connecting with the 9am bus to Byron Bay which I successfully made aided by my very own young tour guide Andrew...compete with skateboard!! Once I arrived, I invaded the Tourist Information Office (that's if one person can invade somewhere that is...mind you, streakers can... technically) in order to purchase a ticket to Nimbin...an old hippie town in the hills. I felt very under-packed on the coach, all I had was my camera...we were sightseeing after all, so how worried was I when I saw suitcases, guitars and surf boards being loaded up by one very stressed confused looking driver!! Once the luggage...and the nine fellow passengers arrived, we disembarked and within ten steps, I was being offered some of Mary Jane's Tobacco which apparently was good shhhh...stuff!!! This really was a most bizarre place...I have never been anywhere like it!!! Everywhere had a bright psychedelic look, there was a very strange aroma in the air and the museum was just insane...hand wisks indeed!!! Lunch was in the pub there, had a very nice steak and chips meal...but gave dessert a miss, didn’t trust the cake!! I still want a digeridoo but until that day arrives, I have bought myself a little Jews Harp to annoy everyone with back home...they make a really quirky little noise, fascinating also springs into the vocabulary...boing!! The return trip to Ballina featured people rather than a mountain of luggage which reassured both myself and the driver...and upon arrival back at base via a 2km walk (yes really!!!), Bruce greeted me with a couple of beers and an audience with his little project in the garage...and what a project it is too!!! He is totally renovating a car!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb