Falls and more falls


Advertisement
Published: December 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

December 9th
Protestor Falls (Nightcap National Park) > Rocky Dam Creek > Minyon Falls > Tyagarah

What a storm last night - Lightning was only a km or two away! Torrential rain surrounding me and therefore no access to anything under my bed, including paper to document my thoughts… Pondering existence and existentialism in my van was tough. But I came through. Always slow to get moving the morning after though…

Did I mention my invention of a camera that could capture smell? The warm green scent of a rainforest is something to be experienced…wish I could take it with me… and then a skinny dip in the falls had me renewed. This is giant goanna land! Potaroos potter around. I love to commune with the sacred beings like this.

Mignon Falls. Wow. 50 metres from the carpark to the lookout, trees surrounding the picnic area protecting the scene - then all of a sudden, there it is! Who’d have known this expanse would be before our eyes? The easiest wow-factor ever achieved! (Sure a long and dusty drive but in reverse to most falls, no climbing as one begins at the top). Today’s cruisy, so why push it and walk just because it’s the touristy thing one ‘should’ do. I choose to sit and write, and ponder, sharing a moment with the kookaburra watching over me.

Why do birds fly? Sure we’ve all considered this before, but I indulge again anyway. Do they fly for freedom…or perhaps just because they can? In some ways this question is not dissimilar from “What is true?” Rhetoric, a koan. Nevertheless I watch in awe, as one graceful something-or-other catches the air beneath its wings, drifts and glides so effortlessly around and around… Peter you’d have fallen in love for sure….

Rolling green hills and pastures - is this the land for me? Could I fancy myself living here? I find myself asking often every day… this is partly why I came.

Ahh what a lovely 30km wrong turn detour to Upper Coopers Creek (not on the map) - (I’m getting used to those!). Bush turkeys scatter across the roads…

Quite reassuring to be back in civilisation, although somewhat overwhelming also. The parallels between bush country and country town zones are perplexing.

Back home to Gondy. I am received with light. This really is like home. Though I’ve only spent a few days here, on and off, I am so comfortable in this space, between the ocean and the tea-tree lakes. Ahh how I shall miss this readily available heaven haven…


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0979s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb