Surfing With The Alien


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Newcastle
April 11th 2006
Published: April 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

"We have free surfing lessons leaving in about 10 minutes" I was told as I checked in after my 11 hour sleep free coach journey. "Great, I'll go" was my foolish and short sighted response.

We arrived at the beach and I saw that my surfboard (it may actually have been an ironing board) was somewhat short and anorexic. Sure enough, when I eventually got on and started paddling out I found it almost impossible to get the board so that I could lie on it without having my nose and mouth underwater. Laying where the instructor told me to I had the front of the board underwater... when I moved back the tail of the board was deep in the water. All the confidence gained in Byron was lost in the space of 5 minutes. I repeatedly failed to catch waves, and ended up being thrown around in the waves like a ragdoll. And all I really wanted to do was sleep.

After the hellish surf school was over I decided to dry out by taking a walk around Newcastle - all along the waterfront through the dockside developments, lighthouse and famous surf beaches that this pleasant city has to offer. I really enjoyed the stroll around Newcastle - it wasnt filled to the brim with backpackers like a lot of the east coast, yet it still has a hell of a lot to offer.

Advertisement



18th May 2006

Bar Beach
I'm a Newie local - the beach is called Bar Beach - enjoyed your entry, glad you liked our city! Now there's even whales swimming along the beach.

Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 22; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb