Climbing Mount Warning


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Murwillumbah
January 20th 2007
Published: February 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Before getting to Mount Warning/Murwillumbah I spent 5 days in Byron Bay. Tom booked his trip up the East Coast and then I got down to some serious relaxing. I waved goodbye to Tom the following morning and then I was on my own again. In fact I met Sam and Emma at the hostel who I had met on the Cape Rienga trip in NZ. They left the following day but I met some good people in Byron and had a good time. The Beach Hotel right on the beach (obviously) is a good one. We also took a trip up to Nimbin, a lovely village in the mountains. It is a big hippy hang out and every shop sells smoking paraphanalia - the police just turn a blind eye.

I left Byron Bay once I got chucked out as they were fully booked. So I took the Greyhound to Murwillumbah and stayed at the lovely YHA on the banks of the river Tweed. The hostel owner runs the place himslf and had free ice cream at 9pm! The following day he gave me a lift to the start of the trail up Mount Warning. On the way we passed a huge colony of fruit bats that has dramatically lowered the price of the fancy houses nearby due to the smell and the noise.

The walk up Mount Warning was not too bad but it was a warm day and I got a little moist. I walked the last part with a German Backpacker and enjoyed a long rest at the top with a lunch of peanut butter rolls. Murwillumbah was a good stop off and the walk up the mountain was interesting in that it is at the center of an old volcanic crator with a circle of crator rim mountains all around about 20km away.

Advertisement



17th February 2007

What a wonderful place
A wonderful village in the mountains..........

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb