a learning curve


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Gosford
July 13th 2010
Published: July 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I think I can be called an Australian trekker of the outbush now. I ventured out yesterday with Uncle Bob, Kate and little Charlotte across the outback where Uncle Bob used to do his tours, down past St Albans. We went along the old convict road which used to be the only road that went between Gosford and Sydney. We had lunch at an old rickety pub ran by an old couple who I think didn't see much in the way of customers during the week. It took us around an hour and a half each way to the bush and I promptly fell asleep in the car on the way back.

Today I spent most with my Aunt Jennifer and Uncle Bob where we went to McGuiggans winery and tasted some of their wines, around to Hunter Valley Gardens where we visited two of my most favoured food shops, chocolate and fudge before heading back to their home for dinner and some family learning.
It was amazing and a little emotional to see old photographs, wedding, birth and death certificates, along with newspaper cuttings of my mum, grandparents, great grandparents and so forth. I feel like I've learned so much more about my own ancestry and their work, comings and goings. It's difficult to piece together much of their lives because so many photos don't have names, places etc on the back, so everything has to be pieced together by what we know and sorting out what has been found. It definitely has made me want to do my own research.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb