Finally doing some work!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Concord
November 15th 2006
Published: November 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I arrived in Sydney on sunday evening absolutely shattered from all the partying! but I managed to find my way to concord and the house I am staying in without too much trouble. There was, however, no welcoming party and so I just grabbed the only room that was free and collapsed on my bed! The next day, Monday, I was to meet everyone and get an orientation of the hospital. I was up bright an early (due to my colapse the night before) and was soon in A&E with my security pass raring to go! I bumped into Charlie, who is also from UCL and in my year doing the same placement, and who introduced me to Dr Gleeson, my supervisor. Just as we were about to go on the official tour the "Batphone" rang to signal a patient coming to recuss. Unfortunately there was actually nothing anyone could do, (WELCOME TO SYDNEY!) but as I was loitering waiting for Dr Gleeson to finish some paperwork another Dr called me over. "I need a female chaperone for a procudure" he said. So off I trotted, only then to be asked to take blood...what with doing psych, paeds and Gynae last year I hadn't taken any blood off a real patient (not a plastic arm!) for about a year! but I didn't want to look inept so said "sure, I can do that!" OH MY GOD!!!!!! well, after I'd located all the bits and bobs, (they're different in every hospital in the UK, let alone abroad! but luckily they use the same system as I'd been teaching the 1st year clinics in September) I managed to get blood on only the second attempt - score! and no screaming from the patient! So feeling very pleased with mysely I preceeded to fill in the bottle label wrong, oops! but all was well - i found a patient sticky label to cover up my mistake, hurrah for stickies!

Yesterday I met up with jenny in the evening and went for some dinner. It was soooooooooo good to see her! she looks amazing, and for her, pretty tanned! we went out for a drink aferwards and did the gossipy catching up, but there's still tons more we need to catch up on. She told me about the place she was staying and It sounded amazing, loads of students, right next to the campus and loadfs of fun. I'd found out earlier that day that most of the people (who I haven't actually see, let alone had a conversation with!) were moving out in the next few wereks and I was to be in the house by myself until xmas - NOT a happy chappie. So Jen gave me the no of the group of houses she's staying in, and as luck would have it, one is becoming avaliable in 10 days!! Whoo Hoo!!!! so in 10days time I'll be living but a stones throw away from Jen!! Luckily the office hadn't cashed my cheque and with some persuading they gave me it back, and I'm outta there!! (so dont worry mum, I'm not paying for it, I'll email you my new address, will be there from the 27th)

So what with all that I haven't actually managed to see much of sydney itself yet, but Jen and I are planning to go to the 'Markets at Moonlight' on Friday and have a mooch around. I promise next installment will be more exciting (although not in the skydiving league!)

Sxx

Advertisement



18th November 2006

Thank God for stickies!
Now where have I heard the story about the sticky before?!? Fantastic cover up! Glad that your getting your hands dirty already and enjoying being down under! I can't believe that your both out there and me and Sarah are stuck here! Keep us up dated, would be fab to see pics of both you and Jen Keep having fun anne xxx

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb