Ready to go


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Collaroy
January 29th 2006
Published: January 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day: -1 (Jan. 30, 2006)
Location: Narrabeen, NSW

In 2 days I'll be pushing off.

Today, I just had a paddle - out of Narrabeen Lake into the ocean & up the coast a bit. Hardly any wind, little surf. A lot of the 'luminescense' (sp?) in the water - paddle dipping, bow wake, 'torpeoes' of fish trails when spooked by me.

Tomorrow I'll turn in my rental car and do a final packing of gear. Though I've done a 'test' packing of the gear at home (in the US), I haven't actually packed the kayak yet (though it is the same gear, and the same (design of) kayak - so it should fit.

In the past week I've been testing the boat a bit - some surf and ling the coast.

When I leave on Wednesday (Feb 1, 2006), I will carry the kayak and all gear from the hotel I'm staying in (Narrabeen Sands) to Narrabeen Lake and paddle out to the ocean - where I'll probably have to portage the kayak over the shallow bar.

The 'internet cafe' I'm posting this from doesn't have the capability to upload data (no USB ports), so no pictures yet (though I really don't have any to show anyway - other than a snapshot of an 'Australia Day' poster at Narrabeen and a couple of shots of surfers at Narrabeen beach).

Till next time (maybe Newcastle?),

Andy


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb