Melting In Australia...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Central Coast
January 25th 2009
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So everyone is freezing back home... well, here in Sydney, we are MELTING!! It has been ridiculously hot here, not that I can complain, but WOW, I don't think I've ever felt heat like this before!! Yesterday I was out walking around the city and dripping sweat - the sun was so hot, it was really humid, AND there was a warm breeze. Did I mention that the temperature was also climbing about 100 degrees?? Ouch!

Last Monday to Wednesday, Andy and I decided to do a couple days away from the city and go camping. I haven't been camping in about 8 or 9 years, so I was pretty excited. We drove about 3 hours north of Sydney and our campsite was out in the woods. Like, camping back home you have campsites and stuff... not here!! It actually felt like real camping. So, I kind of think our whole trip was a joke because so many funny things happened, but I don't think Andy felt that way, haha. Our first night we forgot to get firewood, so we walked around and asked random people for wood... and finally, in exchange for some of the chips we bought, some Aussies gave us enough wood for an hour long fire. Then we went to bed, which was scary, due to the fact that the night before I watched the movie The Strangers, haha. The next day we spent it at the beach, which was about a 20 minute walk from our campsite. We had to walk up these big, beautiful white sand dunes to get to a beautiful beach with huge waves and crystal clear water. We spent all afternoon there, which resulted in Andy getting sunburned really bad. He also bought some skim boards, which are actually really hard and require some skill. Andy didn't want to try it, but I made him and he ran full force and jumped on it and flew like, 6 feet in the air and landed on his tailbone. It was hilarious. I knew he was going to be in pain, but you can't help but laugh when people fall. Poor Andy 😊 Then that night they put a fire-ban on the camping sites because it was so hot, so we basically went to bed at 8pm because we had no way of light, since Andy had broken that the night before. OH, and there are these huge lizards (like, the size of children) called Goannas and they were walking around out campsite and coming close to us while trying to eat dinner, so I for sure thought one was going to attack at night. We lived. BUT we did have the windiest night EVER, so that was kind of scary.

Overall, it technically was a pretty crappy trip (haha) but all in all, it was really fun... but we decided that next time we go away together, it will be to a resort!

Tomorrow is Australia Day here, so I will be running around Sydney somewhere with an Aussie flag on my back... check the news for me. This Thursday I am going up to a nice resort in Port Douglas with my Mom for 5 days and will be snorkeling along the continental shelf, I can't wait! Then she goes home and school will start 3 weeks later!! Which is good, because I am still broke and need to get back to work!! Donations are still appreciate.... 😊


Camping pictures will be up soon!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb