Bonny Hills - or is that Benny Hill


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Bonny Hills
April 1st 2010
Published: April 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So after escaping Barrington Tops we didn't stop the car until we reached the next town "Taree" after a quick breakfast we headed off towards Bonny Hills which apparently has a lovely surfing beach with a campsite right on the beach. On the way there we saw a little shop selling boards so we treated ourselves to a new board as a reward for surviving the "wilderness".

We arrived at the campsite late afternoon and it really is spectacular. The Site is ontop of a hill, obviously named after someone called bonny, and the beach is right below us. We can hear the surf rolling in as we sleep at night. Can't wait to try out the new board tomorrow. In the morning we are woken by the magpies chirping away and then we see this huge Iguana just strolling around the campsite.

So we get down to the beach and have a go, Shenton manages to stand up but as usual he is out with the big waves and the surfers who have been doing this for a while , so as soon as he is up he is off again. He does manage to surf in though
IggyIggyIggy

Is that an Iguana or a crocodile?
which is pretty impressive for the few times he has done it. After struggling to get out past the waves I manage to do my usual Knee surfing and on the final wave even manage one foot up one knee down combo. Surfing really is hard and after only 1/2 an hour I am aching and can not even push myself up on the board to get up onto my knees.

After a rest on the beach we have another go and Shenton takes the board out for me so I can get on without being too tired. I am lying on the board (obviously not looking very professional) and there are these two teenage boys just watching me, I am thinking I must be looking good, but then I see the big wave coming. Shenton is shouting "paddle, paddle" from the shore so I give it my all. The wave comes and before I can even think about getting up I am vertical and have slid off the board into a huge wave. The board comes tumbling down after and then I am in a washing machine. I stand up and splutter around just in time for the next wave to hit me and the washing machine starts over again. When I recover I see the two boys having a good laugh at me, so I guess they knew what was coming.

Bonny Hills is a lovely place and we would like to stay longer but it is Easter and the camp is fully booked so we have to leave the next day. When we get up to go Tank is playing up again and won't start. I dont feel so stressed this time as at least we are near civilisation, at least that is what I think until the cow face woman who has booked the site turns up as we are trying to get Tank started and says " well I am not delaying putting up my tent just because your car won't start" It was only 10.30 am! Anyway we managed to get a few people to help us push Tank out of the way, no mean feat as he is very heavy and we continue to try to get him started. It is with great pleasure that as we finally get him going he coughs out a huge dirty black diesel cloud right into cow face, we love you Tank.

As we leave the campsite Shenton is convinced he can see a line of people chasing us out including a man with only one flip flop, "keep it strong" man, 2 professional poker players, a white haired hobit, 4 norwegien student surfers, drunk fighting Mauri man, his Brazilian friends, and finally the old Chinese lady with a bad hip because she cant keep up. I tell him we are at Bonny Hills not Benny Hill :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb