Blue Mountains, Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Blue Mountains
November 15th 2012
Published: December 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today, i had planned a full day's walking in the Blue Mountains. i had to move rooms today so had to pack before I left meaning I was a little later leaving than i thought I would be. Checked out the travel options for tomorrow to Byron Bay before boarding a train to Katoomba and the Blue Mountains. The train seats were brilliant, the back support flips so you can face either direction or create pods of seats!! Genius, would never work in the UK! Commuters are too up tight!

The blue mountains views were spectacular and the bush walking energetic. My legs creaked as they remembered last months trials up to matchu picchu!!! But they powered through and I managed to cover most of the walks and lookout points around the national park peaks including completing the 900 steps up giants stairway to the middle of the three sisters rock formation!! Beyond that was Echo Point which had an amazing panoramic view of the Blue Mountain range. From this lookout, you could really see how the mountains got their name, there is a fine mist of oil released from the eucalyptus trees which form a slate coloured haze across the whole region.

As the light was fading, i thought i would just have time for one last jaunt...... how wrong can a single white female alone in the rainforest full of huge stinging bugs be!!!! As i walked further into the thicker forest, the trees blocked out most of the natural light! It was about then that i realised i hadn't brought bug spray, any of my three torches or my Leatherman so camping out was out of the question, I'd also eaten all my snacks and was running low on water.... my pace quickened as the bugs cry for fresh blood got louder and the panic set in that i might not actually make it out before night fall.... I think i lost my mind when i felt something large and heavy crawling over my shoulder and down my left arm, i won't lie i nearly went potty in my pants. What surprised me most was the Kungfu position i adopted to fend of the beast invading my personal space, having never had any martial arts training at all!! Imagine my relief when i realised it was only my camera which i had cunningly attached to one of the straps on my backpack and flung over my shoulder a while before. They say it is important to laugh at yourself every so often, well it took me about a day to stop laughing, I'm still chuckling as i recall it and write this!!! About 20 minutes later i head a truck roll by and realised i was parallel to the main road so headed up and walked back into town via the street, although this wasn't lit the final rays of the sun were more than enough to get me back to the station.

I caught the train back to Sydney central and went on the hunt for Chinatown to reward my survival skills with Chinese food and prevent my stomach lining from digesting itself!! After wandering around Chinatown I settled for eating in the food court, it was so busy/chaotic but for less than $10 I got a bento box full to the brim with tasty treats. I was knackered so headed back to the hostel, forgetting I had changed rooms!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0979s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb