Sydney Day 2 - Blue Mountains


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Blue Mountains
January 22nd 2007
Published: January 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

After three full days and two nights in my top bunk bed, I feel almost like a regular backpacker! Day two in Sydney was just as amazing as the first day. Since the time difference still kicked in, and one of my roommates was up and about at 7 am, i figured it would be a great reason to get up and justify why I am lugging my running shoes around with me, and so I set out for a great jog through the botanical gardens and the harbor. I tell, you actually forget that you are running with such beautiful scenery, so 50 min later, i finally made it back to my hostel, took a quick shower, enjoyed a breakfast in the hostel courtyard, consisting of english muffins with Nutella and a white peach (australia peaches, just delicious) after that it was off to grab a latte at Toby's, the corner coffee shop, and on to exploring the city some more. I decided to enjoy the view of the Sydney tower before making my way back down to the Harbor to join my 1 hour tour of the Opere house, before STOMP started! Wow, what an atmosphere to see a concert inside the great hall. The acustic was amazing, and I had a fantastic time. After the show, a cool beer and an appetizer in the Opera Bar was a must. I was joined by fellow backpacker Michael from Sweden, and so with interesting conversation about the travels around the world, it was quite the relaxing way to end the late afternoon. Enjoying Sydney at night was a must to top of the evening, and the Opera, the harbor and the bridge are just as amazing at night as they are during the day. After watching a bit of the Australian Open at the public viewing area in front of the opera, it was time to call it a day, since i had an early start this morning to head up to the Blue Mountains. Jim, the tour guide picked me up at 7:30 and we (a group of 20 fellow travellers) headed up to the mountains. After a short stop at the Olympic Games Venue, we arrived in the mountains around 10, and this is where I saw my first three wild Kangaroos!!! Yeah! They were adorable! I wish i could upload the pictures, but that is going to have to wait hopefully just a few more days. Well onto to the Three Sisters in the Blue Mountains, a bit of hiking, some great waterfalls and amzing views, ferntrees and other flora and fauna that i cannot remember, lunch in Leura with Jen from England, Don and Mary from Chicago and Cha Yan from Korea. Well, if i ever had any doubts about travelling by myself (which i never really did have) rest assured, there are so many interesting people to meet. What FUN! well, now that i just had some great sushi for dinner, i am going to turn in to get ready for a day at the beach tomorrow!!

hope you are all well,

Cheers SL

Advertisement



23rd January 2007

Steffi- Wow.......I am so glad you are having a ball.....keep having fun and play in the waves for us (without touching a jelly fish please!). I can not wait to hear more about your cool adventures!

Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.2611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1015.7kb