Its nice to be popular


Advertisement
Published: November 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Blog day 752


Well having a mini complaint from one of Kangaroojacks avid readers, it has sparked us/me to produce something.

Firstly I apologise for us being so slack in blogging, when we were travelling it was hard enough, but now being fully employed and travelling with work it just seems impossible.

So I (Andy) am going to do my round up to this point in time and I know Caroline has got one in the chamber ready to go.

This month Caroline had got trip to Christmas Island, I was so delighted as it’s a unique place in the world that not many people will get the chance of seeing

Don’t get me wrong, !! I am not saying that in a smug way, but a practical one, its true, because of our work we got the chance to see C.I and I was thankful of that.

Caroline had a great experience over there, I think she got bit fed up of everyone asking, is Andy with you or when is Andy coming over, I think Caroline just wanted to say, well I am here, its me, what more do you want, when she told me this, I couldn’t help but smile, its nice to be popular.

What I was thankful for was Caroline got to see some of the Red crab migration, which had started. Most of the Red Crabs had spawned and now it was the lull before the storm when the baby crabs hatch.

I wanted to call them “Crablings”, Caroline has looked on Wikipedia and they are just called baby crabs,

This unique cycle of life will be one of our memories that we will never forget.

Before Caroline left for Christmas Island I had my little operation which was covered in “Under the knife” and whilst Caroline was away I went straight back to work.

When The Hospital told me that I had to have a month off I nearly fainted, but as it happens I went back to work after only 1 week, and was fine.

Last week 21st November we moved in to an apartment we have rented in Bruce, It’s a nice place and we have taken a 6 month rental out with a possible extension.

The best news be have had was when I phoned DIAC, (The department of Immigration and Citizenship , a couple of weeks ago to discuss us gaining our Australian Citizen ship, in essence I wanted to find out a few fundamental things.

1. when the clock started ticking on our eligibility.
2 As policy had changed whilst we have been in Australia from two to four years was there any way we could somehow be considered know.

Anyway I was told that the clock started ticking from when we set foot on Australian soil 12 November 2008, not from when our visa’s were granted.

And it would be 4 years from this date when we could officially be Australian citizens.

The guy I was speaking to asked me if I would like him to look at our records which he did, then he said something very pleasing.

“I see that you came in to Australia for a holiday in 2006 and left in 2007 for a Holiday for 5 weeks on a holiday visa and we left voluntarily, I didn’t want to break his illusion when he said this, but we only returned back home or else our employers wouldn’t have paid us, and so because of this we can have our Australian Citizenship next December.

We will officially be able to be called Pozzie, which is the cross between a a Pom (Prisoner of Mother England ) and an Auzzie.

He are absolutely delighted, we really do want become Australian Citizens, we feel we have embraced the new life we have and love every minute of it.

I am lead to believe that when we get our citizen ship. once we have done the test, to prove you have become a fair dinkum Australian you are handed your Akubra Hat, a pair of R.M Williams jeans and a map to the outback where you have to go and survive for 3 months on bush tucker, excellent

I have discussed having a Pozzie Party to celebrate but we will have to see.

We have a little trip planned for next year, in February for a week, and we have hired a TVAN and we think we will head off to the Warrembungle National Park for some roughing it, the way we like to .

We are excited about hiring a T-VAN, something w have wanted since seeing one in Tasmania in March 2009.

We are 1 day away from the beginning of the first day of the Australian summer time, it is our intention to make the most of it.

We are off to Wollongong for a house sit for Christmas looking after Nala the dog who’s owners house we sat back on our first Christmas back in 2008

So that’s my little round up, I promise to get back on the blog bus and not drop the ball, again.

Andy


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb