The Kiss of Death


Advertisement
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

DAY 454 & 455


Well as usual I took Caroline in to the office this morning, I did take her 15 minutes early as I had to get to the other side of town for another Interview with an electrical contractor, so after dropping Caroline off at 8.01 I was off making sure I got there in time.

We were talking on the way in this morning, I had to go and buy a pedestal fan the other day as it was baking hot and Caroline said to me, as soon as you got that pedestal fan you put “The Kiss of Death” on the weather, as ever since the weather has been terrible.

I got to my destination in plenty of time and had 10 minutes to prepare, I had a good interview, so I can only await the outcome.

I dropped in to see Keith and Jan this morning on my way to get some groceries, the weather is pretty foul and is predicted to be for a couple of days so we just have to batten down the hatches and hang in there.

Keith and Jan were asking how Caroline was getting on and I said she was good, and enjoying her role. Keith and Jan asked how we were settling back in to being in the Wendy House on Wheels, I said it was just getting back in to a reasonable routine, and Keith quipped it was about “Managing Change” and not what Caroline is doing in change management, they are two different things.

That got me thinking, how adaptable we have had to be, obviously it is our own choice but living this nomadic life and staying at 151 different places has made us be very resourceful.

When I left Holt where Keith and Jan live, I popped in to the local shops where I knew there to be a Woolworths. I was just pushing the basket back to the truck and it started to rain like it was the end of the world I got completely soaked to the skin, so chucking the groceries in I got in to the truck like a wet dog, my shirt was just clinging to me.

Back at the Wendy house there was a river of water on the floor of the awning as we are on a very slight slope, still its only water, and these are the things we have to get over.

I have been informed that a Courier is picking up our old Evakool fridge on Friday and I can honestly say I will be glad to see the back of it.

I didn’t get my swim in on Thursday as I was busy all day and soon I was collecting Caroline from work, we went back and I cooked a “two day” curry, which is enough for 2 days, only because we can keep the leftovers cool at the moment in the fridge box full of Ice.

I had struggled to get a Madras sauce, and didn’t want to go down to a Korma, as that is only like spicy stew, so my only option was to pick up a Vindaloo, and would think our dental fillings are just about solidifying by now 24 hours later, blimey that curry was hot, I’m surprised we weren’t picked up by the coast guards thermal imaging camera, mounted on their helicopter.

This evening I had finished my Len Beadell Book (Still in the Bush) I have been absolutely fascinated by Len, who was a surveyor and opened up 2.6 Million square Kilometers of virtually undiscovered land in the centre of Australia in the late 40’s 50’s and early 60’s I would loved to have seen this country back then and experienced what he did.

It was Helen Sheridan who got me interested in Len Beadell, we both have a lot to thank her and Robert for, Len is described as Australia’s last Pioneer. Caroline is also reading at the moment as usual, a Book about Birdsville, an area in Australia that is very remote, Caroline was telling me that the one local Police Officer had a beat patch that was bigger than the United Kingdom.

We saw a funny thing taking Caroline to work on Friday morning, Canberra is a very bike friendly city and as a matter of fact quite a health conscious city and you see people running, cycling everywhere.

Well anyway we were about 100 yards behind a bloke on a racing push bike and it looked like his shorts were showing off the full crack of his bum, but as we got along side him it was his shorts that had a picture of a bum on them, they were really well done.

I did my 30 lengths of the swimming pool on Friday morning, which I am definitely feeling better for and as I write this still await the collection of the fridge.

Our new fridge has been tracked and will be delivered on Monday to where we are staying so that is all sorted we are really looking forward to getting a fridge the works.

Since typing earlier, our Evakool fridge did not get collected, they even managed to stuff something as simple as a collection up, so what hope do they have of giving good customer service? Mind you I can answer that one already.

I collected Caroline from work this evening; she had that Friday feeling for the first time in a long time, and a not very exciting day, she explained how much it dragged.

The weather is absolutely foul, it is hurling down Kangaroo’s and Wombats outside, well you can’t have raining cats and dogs in Australia.

I spoke to my mum on Skype and she sounds happy which pleases me.

Our Internet is very in and out today, I think it could be the weather conditions, but we also had to reload it so we will see what happens tomorrow.

So that is our week, if the weather gets better tomorrow we will hopefully Hire bikes and cycle somewhere, don’t worry we will keep you updated if we do something more exciting than Caroline having her haircut!

So hold that thought.

KJ.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0166s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb