Early Doors


Advertisement
Published: January 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

DAY 448


Well I was awake again at about 4.40 and got out of bed at 5.50, I was showered, shaved and quaffed, suited and booted before Caroline was up. I think I took Caroline a cup of tea, honestly I can’t quite remember now, but lets say for the sake of arguing that I did.

Caroline’s little face appeared dressed smartly in her business suit at about 6.25, ready for the day two instalment of her new job, she was raring to go, so after a quick piece of toast we had left the building along with Elvis.

It was bang on 7.00pm what excellent timing, Caroline was worried that she may be too early to get in to the building, but when we arrived, a few people were wandering in, for an early start, it was only 7.24am but when on contract make hay whilst the sun shines I say, and boy the sun is shining.

As soon as I drop Caroline off I am heading into a place that we have never been before, so I am mindful of being accurate in my own navigations as my sense of direction is terrible.

I get to where I am have agreed to meet this fella, at a small coffee shop in Campbell and when I get there I have plenty of time to get my sh&t together.

At exactly 7.50am I give this chap a call and tell him where I am as per his instructions he is already at work and will leave now as he is only 2 minutes away and tells me what car to look out for.

I had a formal interview with this company a couple of weeks ago, now this is just an informal chat, with a director, so he can size me up suitably to see if I can go to the next interview. Well the interview was like all the rest, quite positive I have to say but this fella was very difficult to read, you just never know.

I drove across Canberra and got back to Susan’s place at about 10.00am and set about having a look at the stats for Kangaroojack.

It seems that we are having trouble with the site, a blog called “Executed in Sydney” Notified is that it had been posted up, but we can’t see it, it seems that travel blog have been having some problems.

I go and potter with the trailer and start getting it ready for our departure tomorrow, and also cleaning the Patrol out, as I honestly can not remember last time it was cleaned, inside or out.

Lunch time comes and goes and Caroline gives me a call, she tells me as she started so early this morning it would be suitable to collect her at 4.30 as she thinks she will have had enough by then, I think she is still reading documents! 4.30 I ask you, there not much point going in if you only stay until 4.30.

Well I leave to collect her at 4.00pm,the afternoon is baking hot and as I pull up she is just walking out of her building.

She jumps in and tells me she has had a good day, and next Monday she has some meetings scheduled and feels like things are gong in the right direction and is making some headway. She tells me that she felt more nervous going in today, and perhaps had that Monday morning feeling that seems to be more about the shock of having to get up and go to work for a second day in a row, still given a full weeks work next week I am sure it wont be long before she is back in the swing of things.

I have always admired Caroline and know the way she works, I think she is a good Project Manager, but works in such a completely different environment than me, she is always very focused if she can take her mind of shoes and shopping that is.

We head back to Susan’s where Caroline gets back into holiday mode and comfortable clothes again and grateful for a weekend already! Misha greets Caroline like a long lost friend and wants a big fuss, she had not even got her shoes off before Misha launched herself onto Caroline’s lap.

Caroline cooked up a spag bol for dinner tonight, we all sat down to enjoy washed down with a glass of red, well the girls did anyway, I refrained as per usual.

We watched an old Charles Bronson movie “Death Wish” it was a very good film and very dated, in some respects it looks a bit corny but we are spoilt by today’s technology in films so it was probably one of the best films of it’s time.

After a bit of reading we headed to bed, knowing that this was going to be our last night in a real bed with those lovely white cotton sheets. It is a warm night and we are grateful for the ceiling fan cooling us, we wonder if we will be too hot again back in the trailer.

Until tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.735s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 199; dbt: 0.5609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb