Happiness is all around you


Advertisement
Published: November 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Rainbow in CanberraRainbow in CanberraRainbow in Canberra

Is it not beautiful?! It was one of my first days down under, grey rainy day but I instantly felt warm and happy when this rainbow appeared, especially for me!
Just a short one because nothing happened and do only have few new pictures.

I moved for the second time and am finally settled, yeahaa!! I live in a 1 bedroom flat in Hackett, which is right at the border of a nature reserve so that I have some wonderful hills as I look outside my windows. The neighbourhood is really quiet and peaceful with the exception of the noisy birds and the possums on the roof that sometimes wake me up in the morning 😱

It is 30 min by bike to ANU but I love it! The air is nicely fresh in the mornings and around 7 am you are almost alone on the street. There is a splendid bike path that runs through the woods and along the creek. It is like a little street with white stripes in the middle to create two lanes. There are only a few of these bike paths to connect the main towns but from 19h onwards streets are almost empty so that riding on the street is not a problem either. The first time it was really strange to notice that you are alone on the street around 8-9
Veggies of all kindVeggies of all kindVeggies of all kind

Mushrooms are gigantic, avocadoes delicious and the yellow ufo-squashes just cute. I tried the choko (the green thing in front) and prepared it with the Swede (the turnip like thing behind it) and a tomato, nice!
pm. It was like being in Brussels at 1 am! Certainly because there are only street lights along the avenues and bigger streets. It makes driving at night bit scary with all these trees lining the streets (that is to accommodate all the possums since each possum has his tree 😱 ) and their shadows but I already got used to it. It even makes me really relaxed, especially when I turn in Stott's street for the last km because from then on I am really wrapped in darkness. The starry sky is amazing and the silence even more (except for some crickets). That is something we can not even imagine anymore in Belgium with all its lights and noisy roads.

That's all I have to tell for now, except maybe that newspapers are bad and radio too and I miss them. Evenings are bit lonely if you don't have something to listen too and something good and interesting to read. There is not one radio station with nice music or talking, or at least I did not found it. And second problem, I feel totally disconnected from the world because the newspapers are bad. But maybe it is
Sunset behind the mountainsSunset behind the mountainsSunset behind the mountains

That is how I feel when I come home and see this from my window: quiet, relaxed, calm,...
just because I am used to DeMorgen which turned out to be the best newspaper in an international competition last year (if I remember well).

But, for me the weekend just started, so I will go on searching and discovering Canberra. Maybe I just didn't found the right newspaper yet.

Greetz from gradually becoming warmer Canberra (during noon already above 30°C this week and when I ride home a big office building tells me already the whole week that it was 22°C),

Nele


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Eucalypt everywhereEucalypt everywhere
Eucalypt everywhere

'My' Eucalypt tree in front of the building. I did not saw its possum yet, but I keep an eye!


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb