Canberra 2004


Advertisement
Published: April 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, 4 April
It was a cool start to the day. I put the last of the gear into the car and followed my usual route towards the Hume Freeway via Yea. Along the way I passed through countryside still brown from the summer heat and Lake Eldon at Bonnie Doon still had no water. As I crossed the bridge I remembered in my youth spending time on a power boat under this very bridge.
At Benalla you join the Hume Freeway and don't leave it until Goulbourn where the road branches south to the Barten Highway which in turn leads all the way into the nations capital city of Canberra.
The weather was fine, in fact by time I arrived at the Rex Hotel I was down to my T-Shirt. At the reception they gave me the key and I took the lift to the third floor and made myself comfortable in the room. It was a long drive from Melbourne to Canberra. I got lost trying to find somewhere to eat and finished getting take-away instead of eating where I usually go.

Tuesday, 6 April
Today session was a repeat of yesterday shoot... Busy! Fifty children. Three shots of each child doing inside activities. Followed by a couple of Portraits, then outside for slide, bike and tunnel shots. Before I left the centre a group shot had to be taken of each room. As I have already mentioned it was busy but still managed to finish around eleven-thirty which was in time for the children to have their lunch.
Tourist Time: I drove down to banks of Lake Burliegh Griffen and photographed the Federal Library then made my way to the Old Parliament House and the Aboriginal Tent Embassy. While in the area I went for a walk up the hill to the New Parliament Building. A tour of the building was made interesting by tour guide.
Last night I found the Ainsley Football Club which is not more then ten minutes drive from the hotel. I had dined here before and always find the food good but cheap.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb