back to work


Advertisement
Published: December 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all.

So, I've now been back over a week, back into work and all that comes with that. Nothing exciting to report. Jet lag wasn't too bad (although both Phil and I only got about 4 hours sleep over the two days it took to fly home, so that wasn't very nice), and we ended up getting on the same flight back to Canberra (there are flights every 20 mins it seems, although we were perplexed as to why so many people were flying to Canberra ;p), so that was good. I really didn't want to leave Phil in the airport on his own. But, back to the flight.

Monday, after my last entry, we grabbed some lunch, then jumped on the tube to heathrow (except we had to change stations and jumped on the wrong train, so went up one stop and came back, all in a days work ;p), and arrived at about 1.30pm. Little did I know that the JAL check in deak only opens at 3pm (they only have night flights out of Heathrow), so we got in the queue and were first, rather than dragging our stuff around the airport and coming back. Check in opened, we got the exit row for both flights (all thanks to me! Its not really hard, you just have to ask), and went up to the lounge, and went straight through security (the guy told us to as there was a big group of Chinese people coming through after us). I had been joking to Phil that I always got frisked at airports (as I pretty much had been on almost every flight), and lo and behold, I got frisked again. Not that its a big deal, but I'm now thinking that I look a little shady! No dramas there, got through, wandered around, ate our food (we'd thought ahead and bought some cheaper food from Tesco's (loving Tesco's, so cheap), and ate it in the pub there (we bought a drink from there so it doesn't look as bad). Tried to use up all my change, but ended up with some, so put it in a charity bin (which I had to ask 3 people to find). Our flight boarded at 6.30pm, so we just really hung around. Boarded and sat back to enjoy the flight.

I really hate flying at night, because I'm usually really buzzed, and there is movies and games, and food, so I don't really sleep. Also, I don't really sleep sitting up, and the flight was full. After 12hrs, we arrived in Narita airport, got off the plane, went through security again and into the next lounge for 5 hours. We were some of the first people there, so we grabbed a row of chairs and lay down for a nap. Phil slept for about 1.5hrs, and me for about an hour. Woke up with a sore hip. Finally boarded at 11.30pm australian time (its really very confusing), and the flight was only half full. Most people had a row to themselves. We got the shoddy plane on the second flight, only big screens, no games, they showed 1 movie in 9 hours, and the food was not really that great. Barely slept at all, and this guy kept walking up and down the aisles.

Arrived in Sydney, went through Immigration (the guy next to our processor actually went to St Edmunds in Canberra, so we were discussing people living there, it was quite amusing). No problems getting back into the country, so that was nice. Grabbed our bags (which did make it, thank goodness), and went through Customs (we declared stuff, but the guy wasn't too fazed, it only took us 10mins), and out into the airport commons. Walked over to the bus to the domestic terminal, checked in to our connecting flight (and the lady got us both on as I said).

Arrived back in Canberra about 12.45pm, and I managed to talk my head off and stay awake until 7pm! Very impressed with myself. Slept really well the first night, and went to the Physio on the thursday morning. I had actually sprained my ankle (which is why it was so sore), so got some exercises and had a massage. Generally chilled out.

My first week back has been full of catching up with people and work. Getting back into full time work has been interesting, but thankfully its quite quiet, so its been a nice ease back in. Everyone was so excited yesterday as they get all this time off over Christmas, and me, well, I don't really need any time off, as I just had almost 4 months off! But it is nice to be home, and giving out presents and watching them open them has been as much fun as buying them in the first place. So over all, couldn't have asked for a better time, loved every minute of it, wouldn't trade it in for anything, AND, can't wait to go back. Already planning the next one! So stay tuned, and thanks for reading!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb