loaded for Bear


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Superior
August 22nd 2011
Published: August 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Upper Amnicon FallsUpper Amnicon FallsUpper Amnicon Falls

This is the upper Amnicon Falls.
Today is my last day in WI until I make my quick 4 day drive from MN to the Catskill Mountains of NY next week. It was a fairly low key day. I went to a couple of State Parks and saw some waterfalls.

I drove out to Wisconsin Point this afternoon - basically a very long sand bar. At the end is the Superior Entry into one of the busiest ports in the US. It is the western terminus of the St. Lawrence Seaway. Cargos of iron ore, coal, petroleum and grain are loaded here and shipped all over the world. Unfortunately there were no cargo ships entering or departing while I was out there this afternoon.

Not sure what kind of phone and internet service I'll have up in Orr, MN (hopefully there will be some along the way) so I decided to make a post tonight. If you don't see any new blog entries for a while you'll know why.

Tuesday will be a short drive - about 125 miles. I'll get settled in and check out the local area. I may head up to International Falls on Wednesday. The bear photo workshop begins Thursday
Lower Amnicon FallsLower Amnicon FallsLower Amnicon Falls

Lower Amnicon Falls. The bridge is a covered Horton or bow-string bridge. In 1897 and 1898 Charles M. Horton obtained a number of patents for bridges that he claimed made them stronger, lighter and more durable. Today only five other Horton bridges are known - all owned by WI DNR.
afternoon.

That's all for now folks! Bruce




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Big Manitou FallsBig Manitou Falls
Big Manitou Falls

This falls is in Pattison State Park about 10 miles south of Superior, WI. the 165 foot vertical drop is the highest in WI and the fourth highest east of the Rocky Mountains.
Little Manitou FallsLittle Manitou Falls
Little Manitou Falls

This falls is on the Black River before Interfalls Lake. Big Manitou Falls is below the lake. The rusty or root beer tint of the water (you saw it on the lower Amnicon Falls, too) comes from tannin leached from the decaying leaves and roots of vegetation along the river's path.
WindmillWindmill
Windmill

The Davidson Windmill was built in 1904 by a Finnish Immigrant. I took multiple images and merged them together to get this unusual perspective.
 an American Bear an American Bear
an American Bear

I couldn't resist stopping on the side of the road and taking this photo in a yard on the way to Pattison State Park. There are lots of wood carvers in this area, but this one 'called me' to stop and take his picture. I don't figure any of the bears I see later this week will be flag wavers.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb