Looking Forward to Denmark


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Rice Lake
August 1st 2012
Published: August 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Heya Everybody!

SO. This is my second attempt at creating a travel blog for er, well...me and my um...travels... Haha, ANYway, the next trip I'll be blogging about is to DENMARK. Yes, friends, I'll finally be "jumping the lake" (that is, crossing the Atlantic. See, it's like the ocean is just a big lake and...yeahnevermind).

ANYWAY, I'll be going to study at the Danish Institute for Study Abroad (or more commonly, DIS (I'm not sure what happened to the A, but just go with it)) in Copenhagen, DK for four months for the "Medical Practice and Policy" program. I'll be taking five classes while at DIS, nearly all of which are related to medicine. They will be Danish 141 (obviously the one course NOT related to medicine), "The Complexity of Cancer," "Medical Ethics," "Psychopharmacology: Substances and the Brain," and my core course, "Human Health and Disease: A Clinical Approach." In reading the syllabi for my core course, I found out that part of the class includes working in a clinical practice laboratory, where we will be learning and practicing (on sophisticated, lifelike dummies) some basic clinical tecniques such as putting in sutures, drawing blood, CPR, and IVs. It will also include an obligatory study trip to Vinna and Bratislava to work in affiliation with a hospital. Now, the question: am I excited? Well, I think it's suffice to say that I'll be painting over scuff marks on the walls of my house (from me bouncing off them) right up until I leave.

I SHOULD be staying with a host family for this trip as well, though DIS has yet to tell me where that will be. Supposedly I'll recieve that information about 10 days before I leave so...in about a week.

Wow. A week. I can hardly believe that this is really going to happen--it's going to be the trip of a lifetime and I feel so incredibly lucky to have this opportunity! I'll try to be better about blogging this time around, but...we'll see, haha.

Also, I'm really excited because I will actually get a chance to see both Kirsa and Olivia (two of the other exchange students from my Rotary Youth Exchange year in Chile (my previous trip)), as I'll only be about 4 hours from Berlin, and Kirsa will be starting University in Copenhage herself! So THAT is a wonderful bonus to this trip! ^)^

Anyway, I'll post more as I get more information and as it gets closer to the departure date, but whooo! Denmark here I come! :D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb