DC to Lewisburg, West Virginia, 265 miles


Advertisement
Published: April 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

IMG_1126IMG_1126IMG_1126

The Blue Ridge Mountains and the JoAnn and John TrailMix
Well we are off. A late start because of the weather - waited for the morning rain to pass leaving a fresh if overcast start. Its such a beautiful time in DC and our suburb is no exception with an explosion of spring color. Left Cameron, Daniel and Sandy guarding the house. Don't have a plan beyond an approximate route through Kentucky (where I have never been) and meeting Rob on Thursday or thereabouts in Santa Fe or another point to be determined. Headed out on historic Route 66, but has little to recommend it close to DC. In fact according to everyone's friend - wikipedia - its not even considered Route 66 in DC. Notwithstanding sounds like a good way to start.

Been out on this road as far as Front Royal which is the northern gateway to the Shenandoah National Park. Next it was down Route 81 which I guess follows the Shenandoah Valley with the Blue Ridge mountains on ones left (or right?) must confess not sure. On a shorter ride (not blogged) I headed down Skyline Drive which goes through the National Park and is well, spectacular, with views on both sides as you navigate the 100+ miles along the ridge line. This ride I got to look up at the ridge. Stopped for some of my great neighbors trail mix that they gave me for the road - they are so thoughtful! From 81 it was on to 64 at Lexington which will be my friend for a good couple of days. If the first leg is any indication it will be spectacular as the road winds its way through The George Washington and Jefferson National Park. I guess there were not enough parks for them to have one each. The leaves are not fully out now, but there is enough color to be impressive.

Probably a bit out of condition for a lot of riding, but found myself looking at where to stop for the evening after about 5 hours of riding. Ended up in Lewisburg, West Virginia. In an effort to rehydrate myself at a local watering hole it is clear I am somewhere very different from where I started. Only 5 hours on the red rocket ship to land on a different planet. Now I am the alien.

Advertisement



24th April 2016

Road conditioning
hey Phil, i don't know of any way to get in shape for the road except doing it. good luck with your butt calluses!

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb