Day 22, Class V EAT THIS SUCKERS


Advertisement
Published: June 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

3 Class V rapids
6 Class IV rapids
and a but load of Class II and III.

Sissys stay home. The boys took it on and had a blast.

That said I was scared #$%less. Photos will have to be posted after the trip as they are on a waterproof camera but we jumped from cliffs. floated the river (intentionally) and paddled until we couldn't do it anymore. One thing that does motivate you is ROCKS. Big rocks and when your guide say swim left if you fall out on this rapids because on the right they call it "meat grinder" and they don't go in after you. I found out afterwards. He wasn't kidding.

The Rivermen were great. Of 4 boats the only person who fell out was our guide during a class V. I was up front paddling and didn't know until after the rapids. His last command was ALL FORWARD so I paddled. Apparently he was out for 5 seconds and according to the folks in the back leaped into the boat like a dolphin.




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

floating in the riverfloating in the river
floating in the river

between rapids we were able to jump in and swim. I even jumped from a 30 foot cliff
the boats ahead of us heading into a Type 2/3the boats ahead of us heading into a Type 2/3
the boats ahead of us heading into a Type 2/3

Last time I pulled the camera out near a rapid. I was quickly yelled at because I wasn't paddling, so all my photos are kind of mellow
Steve the Pirate part 1Steve the Pirate part 1
Steve the Pirate part 1

Cannon kept calling the guide from the other boat "grandpa" and "steve the pirate". He seeked revenge.
another guide did it to him tooanother guide did it to him too
another guide did it to him too

I don't know what he did but he was pulled into the water 3 times


Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb