And you ask?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Vancouver
August 22nd 2006
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Dara's Semester At Sea Fall 2006 Route Map!

The route! With the exception of Portland -> San Diego, and Florida -> Portland, all the rest are actually on water (fancy that!) so the distances will not be direct, but in the water! Whoa! So it's acutally longer than the 25561.99 miles.

Ah! First entry! How exciting!!
So I leave in 35 hours, give or take 22 minutes.
Wheeeee!!!!!
So, how much have I packed for this trip I leave for the day after tomorrrow you ask? Well, if I had to give it on a scale of 1-10, 10 being I could leave right this very second, I would have to give my readiness a good 6.32. And about 4.6 of that came from just this evening. I work better under pressure.
And how excited am I for this trip, you ask? Probably about a 17. Give or take a few. Well, just give a few.
Where am I most excited to be going on this trip? Wow, you ask a lot of questions. I am most excited to be going to Myanmar, for reasons unbeknownst to me. Perhaps it's that I will be taking my one big trip there. Or perhaps because it is SUCH a gorgeous place. Or Perhaps it's because its a small bit of a miracle that we are even allowed to visit the country.
And where am I going again? Again, with the questions... Well, in my utmost efforts to not pack today, I made this handy-dandy map just for you! It should be around here somewhere... And if for some reason the site is being a jerk, or you want to know the actuall names of the cities, the official itinerary is located here - Itinerary Fall 2006.
Last question, promise: why am I going on this trip that is going to make me broke as a joke by the time I make it home? For SO many reasons. First, I LOVE to travel, and have only had a few opportunities to do so in my life thus far. I love to see new places, meet new people, watch out the window as the scenery rolls on by (cheese-tastic, I know, but ohso true). It's a bit of a mystery of what I'll get to see/experience. I love not really knowing what to expect, not knowing what is going to happen next, being spontaneous. I love seeing how other people live, seeing that not everyone lives the way I do. Americans are so very self absorbed in themselves, and we don't get that may opportunities to see life outside of the States. So here's my chance. And I'm taking it by storm.

Advertisement



25th August 2006

I'm so excited for you!!!
Dara I can't believe you are seriously going to travel around the world, on a boat! It blows my mind thinking about it!! I'm going to miss you tons, and even though I wouldn't normally get a chance to see you for the first semester anyways...still its different than being up in bham. Have fun take lots of pics and deal with the money issues later, who gives a flying fish you are going to be going everywhere!!! much love dara!
27th August 2006

Way to update, butthead.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb