I Sing for Joy at the Work of Your Hand


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Spokane
October 24th 2008
Published: October 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Drive Day 2


Today we were up and at it again. Actually, we just got up and drove to Spokane. The drive was beautiful, filled with a lot of not talking, which as exactly what we all needed. We came to Spokane and then did lunch and went to the Fox to check on some things. It was great to see the guys hanging my show, familiar guys who were doing a good job and everything taken care of- I have no worries about that. Then we hit LC just after the kids arrived, and I did laundry and ran some errands while they rehearsed. We had a opening night cast party for them with cake and ice cream.

Dale told me before I left that I wasn’t allowed to call him crying until after the 5th show, and by then we’d be half over so it doesn’t matter. But I did cry today, though it had nothing to do with the show. I was driving Uncle Dave’s truck on my errands (thanks UD!) and thinking about tour and everything- especially about what stage I was in when I was at this point of tour in the spring. Two men close to my family were in the hospital. Telling Uncle Dave I was leaving while he was in that bed was so hard for me. And I look at how to turn out- how amazing God is and how big He is, faithful… all these things. I was blessed in that moment, and also amazed at how far God has taken me on this journey. And I was grateful once again for the Uncle Dave hugs I get to enjoy- especially now.

After rehearsal, WPA was hosting a night of Simply Worship. The thought of getting to be with family and connect with God, uninterrupted for a few hours today is what got me through yesterday. It was powerful. An again, I was in tears several times. I was moved by what God has done and what He is doing- in my life, in my church, in my community. How far He has brought me down this path, and also how much farther we have to go. It was an amazing time of ministry, and I’m so glad I was able to be here for it. God spoke some things into my heart which were perfect for the moment, and much needed. I, again, laid my life at His feet and gave Him permission to use it as He pleased, that I would do my best do say “yes” when opportunities arrive, rather than sit and question practicality or logistics. Yes to anything, anytime, anywhere.

One song jumped out at me from the very beginning. It’s a song we’ve done several times, and I realized something about it a few months ago but haven’t put it into words until now. Lincoln Brewster does a song called “Let the Praises Ring.” The verses speak of what we give to God- hope and trust and our hands and our feet and our life, our everythings. Then, as we move into the chorus, it is what we get from God in return- peace and strength. I think, especially for believers, that we must continually offer these things to God, everyday laying them down, and in doing so, He will give us more and more peace and strength (and other things) that we need. It is one of the many blessings of giving it up to Him. Of course, the more we let Him work in us, the more we will be stretched and things, so we will need more peace and strength.

That’s all I have for now.

WHAT I LEARNED TODAY:
Excellence is a value that not everyone has. My family is excellent.

HOW TO PRAY:
We apparently have some kids that may be getting sick. Tomorrow is our first proper load-in. And we’d love to have a sold-out show, so invite your friends!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.05s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb