Departure Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » SeaTac
November 3rd 2022
Published: November 3rd 2022
Edit Blog Post

After 2 years of waiting, this day has finally come. A week ago, I decided to move up my trip 4 days so that I could add Tokyo to my itinerary. In doing so, I had to change carrier from EVA Air to ANA. This is my first time flying on ANA and from the reviews I have read, it is not quite impressive as EVA's Business Class. Upon boarding, the disappointment began as my seat was not thoroughly cleaned - crumbs and candy wrapping greeted me. So I flagged out one of the flight attendants, showed her my seat and she was shocked and embarrased. She and the lead flight attendant apologized and quickly took action.

The Business Class section was only half occupied to my surprise though pleasantly as that meant less traffic going to the toilets as my seat is next to one of them. Drinks and meals were promptly served at cruising altitude. The menu provided passengers choice between Japanese and International to which I elected the former. The flight lasted 10 1/2 hours to which it felt it went quicker probably because of the experience in having more wiggle space in my seat.

Upon arrival to Narita Airport, the process of checking vaccine documentation was fairly quick and easy with the help of Japan's mySOS phone app. The only wait occurred at the Immigration Checkpoint to where I may have seen Guns N Roses' guitarist Slash along with his bodyguard! I wanted to take a photo but they were signs everywhere that taking pictures is strictly prohibited in the immigration area. As some of you may already know, GnR is doing a show here in Tokyo on 11/6 to which I have tickets not because of GnR (though I am a fan) but for the reason of a band that will be opening for them - BAND-MAID!

After clearing immigration, I then proceeded to get my huge luggage only to find more bad luck - one of the wheels has completely broken off. Took my amputated luggage to ANA's baggage counter, showed them the damage, only to be told that since my huge luggage was overweight they cannot be held accountable. Oh well, I am still determined that these couple of bad episodes will not deter my enthusiasm of this trip. So I loaded my injured baggage unto a pushcart and checked it in at the baggage storage for recovery until I find a replacement.

From there, I took a nearly 2 hour bus ride to Ikebukuro. Thankfully, the bus drop off location is just a 4 minute walk to my hotel. The room is tiny but is perfect as it really epitomizes what Japan is all about when utilizing spaces so efficiently. I now await for this local fella whom I met in a FB group that caters to BAND-MAID fans. He has volunteered to by my tour guide during my stay here in Tokyo and who will be joining me at the GnR show. So good night here but good morning to everyone else in the USA.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



19th August 2023

Appriciation
Thank you for the whole article and for giving me the best experience reading it. Love it. Read more

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb