Back in the USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Puyallup
August 26th 2008
Published: August 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived back in Washington on Saturday afternoon, greeted by my parents, after an amazing and thrilling week in Europe. The last few days in Antalya were memorable, as I said bye to the people that I have come to know and love there over the summer. I wrapped up my contribution to the social skills arts and crafts project, which turned out to be a success despite the original plan falling through. The team from the DR, and the staff/children at the rehab center had a blast making crafts and playing with the children. It was beautiful to see the exchange of love and care take place across the boundaries of culture, language, and difference in intellectual, physical, and social abilties. We introduced new crafts such as making playdoh and gak, to the kids and the teachers. In one room, German, Turkish, Spanish and English were being spoken at one time. During my last day at the rehab center the physiotherapists sent me off with a surprise going away party with a cake and a gift. Verna took us all to a unique fish restaurant on a river at Duden falls, and then to our favorite Ice cream restaurant, Marco
PhysiotherapistsPhysiotherapistsPhysiotherapists

The therapists threw me a surprise going away party at lunch time, complete with a cake and a turkish coffee maker.
Polo. I helped her prepare for the arrival of 2 women who have just graduated from special education school and who will be coming to Antalya in September for an extended period of time to volunteer in the rehab centers and assist Verna in the planning for the camp. Despite the excitement of all the activity and nystalgia of the last week, I was ready to leave. I was anxious to explore Istanbul again, and even more excited to travel Europe, even though it would be a whirlwind tour mostly of places I’ve been before.

The dep girls and I went to Istanbul and spent 2 days there seeing all we could see. Our last night, Karn joined us and treated us to a fancy dinner, which the girls and I truly appreciated, being college students/freshly graduated college students who would be unlikely to venture to a restaurant like that on our own. It was the highlight of the Istanbul experience for some of them.

I flew to Frankfurt, Germany on Saturday, greeted by my old college friend, RJ who is stationed there with the US army. We stayed in Germany for a few days and explored his small town and also took a trip to Munich, where we enjoyed a drink at the famous and historical Hoffbrau house. I then took a train to Hallein, Austria to visit extended family, including my cousin David. It was a very relaxing time which brought back memories of the times I visited there over 6 years ago. See pictures. On Wednesday I flew to Paris, and took a bike tour with one of the dep girls, Katelyn. If any of you visit Paris, I highly recommend taking a bike tour with Bike About Tours, to get a feel for the city and see things you wouldn’t ordinarily see as a tourist. RJ and his friend Jason joined us that evening for dinner, and after Katelyn left the next morning I was alone with the boys for 2 days. It was nice to be in the company of men who speak English, after being in a foreign country with primarily women for over 3 months! We saw the major sights, such as the Louvre, Eiffel tower, Arc de Triumph, and Versailles. We went to some nice restaurants and spent lots of Euros. But it was all worth it, and a wonderful
The DR team and I The DR team and I The DR team and I

The DR team of high school students were incredible to work with and very mature and skilled for their age. They generously gave their time and their love to the children at the rehab center.
ending to my time overseas. It was hard to leave such a nice city with good company but I was ready and excited to return home.

I am now here and my room looks like a tornado hit it, with all my luggage exploded onto the floor. It is wonderful to be back and I have already seen some close friends and enjoyed the company of my parents. I have a few weddings coming up, and a bit more transition before I settle down in Fairbanks for a while. So life back in America begins. Thanks to everyone who read my blog, and for your comments. It was wonderful to be able to share my experiences with some of you, and it will be even better to share in person and catch up on your lives. Keep in touch. God bless you all.
Sincerely,
Kim




Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Boy writing on wallBoy writing on wall
Boy writing on wall

I had an opportunity to employ a few OT skills in my last days when working more directly with students at the rehab center through the social skills/arts and crafts project
Verna, the dep girls, Linda and a RachelVerna, the dep girls, Linda and a Rachel
Verna, the dep girls, Linda and a Rachel

At the fish restaurant, for debriefing and goodbyes
Katelyn and I in ParisKatelyn and I in Paris
Katelyn and I in Paris

In front of Notre Dame


Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb