Really only 5 days left...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Olympia
February 16th 2006
Published: February 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm not sure how it got to be so down to the wire! Maybe being distracted by buying a house, interviewing and hiring a new case manager, trying to support a distraught teenager (the one in my house, not the 120 at work) and completely revolutionizing my relationship with G whilst balancing work, personal life, buddhist activities, and more might have something to do with it! Oh, and going to more shows! Utah Phillips, all male ballet review, etc. Fun, but time consuming. I started a "going to New Zealand" pile today - I cleared off my desk and piled up a bunch of stuff that needs to go to NZ with me, largely stuff from mom's list of what she wants me to bring her!

I talked to her tonight. She said the weather there is hot hot hot, by which she, English Rose that she is, means in the 80s. She gave me a list of things to bring and went over our itenerary. We will be in Opua for most of the time, with a few day/weekend cruises on the boat to nearby islands, and then a week down in Wellington for an arts festival. Mom is an artist (she got her BFA, MA, and MFA in just 7 years with straight As) and I grew up in art galleries and other interesting places. We often bond by going to theatre, galleries, etc. I love my mom and can't wait to see her!!!!! It is amazing just to be able to say that - we have totally transformed our relationship to be so loving and caring. Our relationship is a major treasure of my life, and she is such a vibrant, strong, loving, active, passionate, brilliant, intelligent woman. In buddhism there is this idea of "ichinen", which gets translated as intention, prayer, life moment, life condition determination, etc. The idea is ichinen is what determines/creates our reality. My mom has the most amazing ichinen! She is able to take impossible dreams and create reality.

For many years my ichinen towards her was one of judgement and resentment, and so I missed the vast treasure beneath the layer of complaints. Many years I wasted, but I am so grateful that things are different now...and I get to see her in 6 days!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb