Packing for China


Advertisement
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saying Good-byeSaying Good-byeSaying Good-bye

I took Emi and Tuck to Remlinger Farms. We rode the carnival rides and picked raspberries, eating to our hearts content. They will be so much bigger the next time they come!
So here I am sitting at my computer instead of actually figuring out what I need to bring! Actually, I know what I need to bring, I have a list typed out and partially checked off and everything. The real trouble is getting everything ready for coming home and I haven't even left yet! Since I will be starting school exactly 17 hours after arriving home from Shanghai (if all goes according to plan), I need to be organized to study. And that is not too likely to happen at this point, procrastinator that I am. But you never know...it might just happen yet, especially if you all wish me luck!

On Tuesday morning I will be heading to SeaTac airport around 6 AM with MT, T and E. We will then board a 9 o'clock fight to Vancouver and on to Shanghai where J will meet us! The waiting period is hard for me- I just want to be there already and get started exploring! I've tried to learn a little Mandarin-which is rather difficult considering I am tone deaf. I've been vaccinated for everything I might possiby be exposed to that they have a vaccine for, anyway. I've been helping MT and the kids pack and sort and store their things. I feel like I should already be on my way! Though the flight itself may prove interesting- entertaining two four-and-one-half-year-old kids during a long contained period of time is always challenging no matter how much practice one might have.

Although I want to be in Shanghai already, at the same time I wish the date were months away again. Because it means saying farewell to people who are almost like family. MT, J and the kids will not be returning to Seattle for two years. And I will definitely miss them more than I can say! That is partially why I am so happy to be helping with the transition, so that I can see how happily settled they are, and maybe not be so sad to come home alone.

The other reason I am so happy to be joining them in Shanghai is the opportunity to travel and explore more of China. On August 21st I will be flying to Hong Kong, where I will meet a friend and take on a Dim Sum cooking class! Then we will join an Intrepid tour, The Essence of China, and travel northward to Beijing. I am not too sure of the itinerary, due to the earthquake a few months back, but that will be part of the adventure!

Stay tuned...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb