Matt & John on San Juan


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My BikeMy BikeMy Bike

San Juan's best mode of transportation!
Do you know that ridiculous hypothetical question where someone asks you if you were stranded on an island, what would you want to take with you? If it were San Juan Island, I would definitely say my bike! And after stepping out of my house early Saturday morning to see that it would be a bright sunny day, the decision was final and my destination was the island. My friend, Matt, decided to join me on the adventure. He had some time off and wanted to do something different for him, so I asked him to come along. We threw our bikes into the back of my pickup and headed north.

It was a little chilly that morning, but after looking at the forecast and thinking about the physical output we would be giving, I decided to where just my bike shorts and long-sleeve. Matt looked at me as if I was nuts! He wore jeans over his shorts and a sweat shirt. I told him it wouldn't be smart to have to carry those clothes around later when he was sweating profusely. It was him who had the first laugh at the ferry terminal, though. The bikers had to stand in line outside as the cars were being squeezed onto the ferry from bumper to bumper. It takes some time because this is one of the more popular ferries on a weekend and everyone wants onboard. So an inch between bumpers is wasted space and lost money for the State of Washington. As we wait patiently, the wind of the coast of Anacortes had an intense bite. I am warm-natured and usually do well in the cold, but I found myself growing impatient in that line.

Soon enough, though, the ferry worker removed the barrier and let the array of bikers claim their ramp on the starboard side toward the stern (Question for the Day: Is there a port/starboard and bow/stern on a ferry? If you don't know why I'm asking, google it!) Riding the ferry through the San Juan Islands, a group of four major islands nestled between the American mainland and Victoria, Canada, provides the rider with remarkable beauty. Matt is a naval officer stationed on the same ship I once served on, the USS Shoup, a guided-missile destroyer whose size and firepower provides an intimidating presence whereever it goes. Because of our experience out to sea, you would think we would not be as enthralled as all the landlubbers who find themselves outside in the cold wind taking picture after picture, however, the scenery always gets the best of me. Matt and I sat around talking about time at sea and shared pirate-hunting adventures (no, pirates are not a thing of the past) we had on separate deployments.

I ended up halting the conversation to take out my Blackberry and take photos. Now I have always been they type of guy who is so immersed in the experience that I forget to stop and take a few clicks with my camera. It is a hobby I am attempting to pick up, especially since I am writing this blog now, and I am actually finding it quite fascinating. I do, however, need to acquire a better camera. The Blackberry just will not cut it!

We soon approach San Juan Island which is our cue to head downstairs and claim our bikes for departure. Because we were at the back of line, we again had to wait for the vehicles to head out before we left. I thought about this for a second and realized it did not make much sense. Many bikers ride to protect our environment and now the ferry system is allowing the drivers to slap them in the face with exhaust gases when they start their cars right in front of us. Perhaps that is just my impatience developing an argument for why we should have been the first into the isolated beauty of Friday Harbor, one of the two small towns set on the east coast of the island. Because there are so many riders, we are forced to walk off before jumping into our seats and riding away.

Matt had not ridden his bike in years and found out real quickly readjustments to his seat were necessary. I told him that we better turn around and find a shop quick but he insisted on going until we run across one. Now if there is one thing I've learned in taking on more technical hobbies, it's that you want it to be as comfortable as possible to make it as fun as possible. Knowing Matt's fitness on a bike also helped me insist agressively on turning around. So we found a bike shop just two blocks behind us to get the tools necessary to raise the seat. This would pay off as he had to make a few adjustments on the way to feel just right.

So out of Friday Harbor we went on a heading northwest to Roach Harbor. Our first stop was the local winery, San Juan Winery. After three miles, I was sure Matt could use a little readjustment and some relaxation. One of the best ways to do this is by having a little taste of the finest red wine on the island, not to mention for military, it's free! Of course, we came on a perfect day because the festivities would pick up there later as they were hosting a barrel tasting as well. We assured that we would come back after a quick lunch in Roche Harbor.

It takes a total of eleven miles to ride from Friday Harbor to Roche Harbor. For a guy my size, that burns almost 1,000 calories, so talk about a fun way to gain fitness! I am big into fitness, but lately, I have decided that taking time away from the gym is taking time away from experience. So my activities have changed somewhat to keep me in shape and at the same time prevent boredom from settling in. Instead of lifting weights, I perform a series of calisthenics at home that I can do right in front of my television. Running, once you get used to it, is actually a quite relaxing way to see the world. And now I bike to work about three times a week instead of driving. After all, it takes forty-five minutes to ride and shower up, whereas driving took twenty minutes. That is a free twenty minutes spent working on my fitness! It is important that everyone stays in shape no matter who you are. We want to be healthy and avoid doctors, and more importantly, live long to experience our children, grandchildren, and hopefully, great grandchildren. Finding a fun way to keep that shape helps maintain consistency in workouts. Nothing is worse than a routine that you feel like you have to do. Make yourself want to get that body moving! I have been building hobbies that would maintain the joy in staying fit in order to do this.

We finally entered the arch declaring that we had made it to the great village of Roche Harbor. The place is a haven of the most unique experiences in the Pacific Northwest, such as sea kayaking and whale watching. Shopping is also a popular thing to do there, however, if you know me, shopping is not my cup of tea and shopping for souveneirs is the only thing worse than shopping. But I do love to eat! We hit up the small, but popular Lime Kiln Cafe right on the water for a nice bowl of clam chowder outside in the sunlight. Matt got some much needed rest while munching away and I picked out the boat that I would sail around the world in one day out of what seemed to be over a hundred of them. We then took a stroll around the village until I grew restless and ran back to my bike.

The ride back was even better for me, as my legs are getting stronger and more adapted to the motion which is quite different from my usual sport, running. It was not the same way for Matt, though. I decided to stop frequently and enjoy the remarkable weather while taking a few snapshots so that he could catch up. Eventually we made it to our barrel tasting at the San Juan Vineyard to enjoy a few more delicate tastes made from the Washington grapes while enjoying our share of cheese, crackers and shrimp! Did I mention I like to eat?

Finally, feeling a little buzzed from the, perhaps excessive, tasting of the delicious selection, we decided to finish the last three miles of our enjoyable day to Friday Harbor. The ferry there leaves every two hours or so, leaving Matt and I a little time to have some more treats and drinks the island has to offer. In my past experiences on San Juan Island, Roche Harbor is the place to relax while Friday Harbor is the place to party. There is a wide selection of great restaurants and bars to choose from in Friday Harbor and everyone's open to meeting someone. San Juan Island is certainly a great experience and one of the reasons I will miss living in the state of Washington.

I'm thankful to have a friend like Matt. The truth is at times we have had our differences. He also has sort of a bitter personality that is not afraid to criticize or anger others when in a sour mood. He did that once before after coming home from deployment and mentioning that he read about my unfortunate leap off the ferry. He has since apologized and even listened to my story with empathy wondering how someone who seems to have such a head on his shoulders most of the time would do that. I was able to share how bipolar disorder is a real diagnosis and requires honest treatment in order to live a fulfilling life. I think good people really want to be a part of your life and be there to help you live that fruitful life, but more importantly, you cannot let them down and you have to want it for yourself.

On that note, it has been one week since I started blogging and have had a bit of feedback from the few readers so far. Even thought I have not yet started the BIG journey, I really appreciate it all the encouraging comments and you letting me know if it has in fact touched you in some way. I invite you to share this journey with others you believe may benefit from joining me. I think my travels are certainly going to open my heart up in ways I never imagined. Thank you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb