Cord Cutting and Final Farewell


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Blaine
April 3rd 2015
Published: April 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

In 3 hours I will close my computer monitor and turn off my iphone for the next 365 days. I will begin an exploration of myself and my relationship to technology, community and to chaos. The removal of all digital technology in this way is not intended to demonize the utility of technology, but rather to shed some light onto how we use it, and the dependency we've developed. There is a shared intention in this journey, with many of you, and I feel that strongly. We all may not be in a position to take a year long break from technology, but this is okay. If one of us does, we will all share in the insight and freedom discovered.

Last night I said a final farewell to my family and closest friends at a party held in Arlington, Washington, and today is the big disconnect. Wow! Its hard to believe that the time has finally come to begin this pilgrimage. Of course I'm nervous, but I also stand strong in the faith that my higher power, God, will protect me through the rough roads ahead, and that all the support, prayers, and well wishes bestowed upon me from those I love travel alongside me and Buttercup (my Trek 520 bicycle). I am eternally grateful to have been been lead to a place in life, with a perspective which allows me to grow in my faith, and trust in the natural order of our world. What a blessings. Thank you.

In a world which has been extensively categorized and analyzed, the "unknown frontier," has become a subjective consideration of the depths of reality we each are willing to explore within our own hearts/minds. This frontier, a desert of solitude spreading out before us, beckons for a compassionate honesty as we become aware of the limitations of our current perspectives, and decide to test the currents of consciousness as they flow onward. There is still more unknown than known, though perhaps its no longer "out there" we need to be looking to.

Thank you and blessings,

Node Smith - Naturopathic Pilgrim

Advertisement



4th April 2015

Awesome adventure!
What I wouldn't give to be able to do this. Not only am I dependent on technology, I work in the tech industry. I have frequent thoughts about how the connectivity has actually caused such a big disconnect in spirit. I sit and watch my teenage daughter, head always lowered while she is glued to her phone and tablet 24/7, and I think about all that she is missing and will likely never know.
14th April 2015

Happy Trails Node!
Hi Node -- wishing you all the best on your trip. Will be writing up my short article for the NEXUS soon. My God protect you on your journey and grant you many insights! -- Steve

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb