Williamsburg in 1 hour


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Williamsburg
August 27th 2016
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 37.2756, -76.7097

Editor's NOTE: Normally Glenn proof-read's my blog and does some major editing, however I am not asking him to do this for me, since he needs a break. So bear with me if there are misspelled words and the grammar is incorrect. Thanks for reading.

We had a delightful breakfast at the Cassadas. Besides scrambled eggs, they fixed french toast. My favorite. As we sat around the table, we talked about all of the names of the children. And how they got their names, and the middle names also. I think it is important that we acknowledge each of the kids. I encouraged Rebekah and her upcoming responsibilities as a teen and getting her driver's license. I said "You have to get the trust of your parents. When your folks tell you to come home at 10pm, you come home at 9:30pm. You have to build trust and they will trust you more." We took a selfie picture before we left.

Pat and Courtney were nice to give us instructions on how to leave the city to avoid the traffic and the tolls. Great idea.

We stopped at a Garage Sale and I purchased about 15 books for the G'kids. Good
books, like Dr. Seuss books. We also had a picnic lunch at the Welcome Center just before we drove through Fredricksburg, VA. Bailey Cassada had made us a sack lunch - sandwich, chips and a peach.

As we were driving down 64 towards Newport News, I suggested to Glenn that we pull off in Williamsburg, VA. Not long. Just so I can say we did something historical and fun. We parked and I got some basic information about the historic town. We walked on cobbled stone streets, saw old buildings. I can imagine that this would be a great place if you had more time.

The highways were super crowded. It is because all the beach home rentals are from Saturday to Saturday or Sunday to Sunday. Interstate 95 was brutal. But we managed just ok. I have not helped Glenn in much of the driving. Once we get to NC and AL, I'll be able to offer to drive more. Get me out of the NE and all the traffic, especially on 95



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb