Home again...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Suffolk
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We left Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday morning (Aug. 2nd) and decided to just make a final run for home. Dad and I switched drivers about every 100 miles or so early in the day so that we didn't get so tired, but since he is not comfortable driving around cities, I ended up driving the final stretch through the Indiana and Ohio turnpike myself and then turned the final leg over to him at the PA border. So after 17 hours and a 1,000 miles, we arrived at Patty's house in Parker, PA...just south of I-80 at about 1:30 a.m.

Nebraska was much as I expected...miles and miles of corn fields! Western Iowa more hilly then the eastern part was and I was kind of intrigued by how they had terraced the fields on the steeper fields.

We stayed in PA until Tuesday morning and then the boys and Lisa (who had been up in PA with her aunts for the summer) I drove back to Virginia to -try- to get back to normal.

All in all, it was a wonderful experience! I know that Dad really appreciated and enjoyed the whole trip and is already talking about doing another road trip..to New England next! But first, he has to do his hot air balloon ride that he got for a birthday present last year when he turned 80!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb