GWU Women's Rugby vs U Richmond


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Richmond
February 17th 2007
Published: March 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

So really early in the morning we got up and ate some cereal and walked a few blocks to a cold congregation awaiting some rented vans that would drive us to the rugby game at U of Richmond. The car ride was alright, we were all tired. Once we got there the team started warming up and such, I went for a run around campus. U Richmond is a pretty campus from what I saw. Somehow I didn't get completely lost and got back to the field in time for the game to start. Rugby is a really intense sport with rules I do not understand in the slightest. However, thanks to some help and some beer from one of the girls' rugby-playing boyfriends I got really into it. They use fun words like "scrum" and "ruck". What an awesome british invention. anyway... Shelley's parents and her aunt and uncle and very-young cousin were there so I got to meet them and share in the incomprehension of the game with her dad and uncle. I took about a million pictures, only some of which turned out. It seems that something got onto the left-center portion of my lens and screwed it all up. This whole experience made me wish I'd been on a legitimate sport/team while I was in college. It looked so fun and obviously a source of great cohesion between teammates. Shelley's parents took us all out for lunch at this italian place and i got a portabella sandwich that was amazing. And coffee, which I'd been missing all day. Stupid coffee addiction. It was good, I felt awkward not offering to contribute to the money situation, but I had none, so... yeah. The ride back to GWU with the rugby team was great. They were all drunk from their social event with the other team and having a great time. We scanned the radio for awesome songs and got all worked up. Also we got lost a couple times because the girls had only printed out directions TO the game and not BACK FROM. oh well, we figured it out and then focused our attention on finding a "Wawa" convenience store to visit. After an hour or so we found one and took pictures and such. It was really fun, but in a sort of indescribable way. When we returned to Shelley's room we both were so exhausted we took a nap.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb