Prince William Forest Park NP


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Manassas
August 15th 2010
Published: September 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello,

Well, I just finished enjoying a short hike in part of Prince William Forest Park NP in Manassas, VA, USA. www.nps.gov/prwi/index I found Prince William Forest Park while I was visiting some friends in the area. It seems to have a handful of hiking and biking trails available.

The day I visited the park it had just finished storming, so it wasn't too hot, but the humidity was very high. I only did a couple of quick hikes. (1.5 miles and 3.5 miles) to see if the park was a place I wanted to come back to in the near future. Needless to say, it is a place I am planning on returning to, soon. I am still in the area visiting with my friends, so I hoping to hike the North Valley Trail (3.1 miles one-way) this week and the South Valley Trail (8.7 miles one-way) next week after the Holiday weekend.

I noticed there are a number of small creeks with well constructed bridges for easy crossing. The trails seem to clearly marked. Some trails are old service roads, while others are dirt paths that run next to some of the creeks or rivers.

The website has all the basic information on Fees, Camping, trails. There are also PDF files of the maps, but you also get a map with the entrance fee at the main gate.

Hope to see you on the trails!

Sir Dude

PS, I am still new to this Blog / Forum, so I am working on posting the few pictures I have of my hikes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb