Getting Ready


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Manassas
March 14th 2007
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

All Packed UpAll Packed UpAll Packed Up

Everything I own for the next few months.
Getting ready to leave home and travel the world with a backpack in less than a month is not easy. In case you'd like to join me or are just interested in how it's done, here's my to do list:

- First things first, I need a visa. This unfortunately involves deciding where I want to go first. I chose China because I have a few contacts there, there's a great exchange rate, and I should have the ability to work there, teaching English, if I decide that's what I want to do. Getting the visa was easy given my close location to D.C. Just dropped off my passport (which I already had) and picked up the visa 4 business days later for U.S.$50.
- Get a plane ticket. The "around the world" ticket was an interesting option but ultimately defeated by the lack of any semblance of a schedule or plan on my part. A one way ticket to China using a student travel site, STA Travel, was the answer. It turns out the PRC frowns on people entering the country without documentation showing how they're going to leave, so I had to buy a one way, refundable ticket from
GoodbyeGoodbyeGoodbye

3a.m. Wednesday morning right before the taxi came to take me to Dulles.
Beijing to Seoul, South Korea at the airport an hour before my plane left from the states. I'll have to figure out how to get my money back from that deal soon. They say you can refund the ticket up to a year after you purchase it, even after the flight has already happened, but I don't know if I trust that one.
- Travel insurance is always a good idea. Covers sickness, injury, and any transportation/evacuation costs. Make sure all your activities are covered, like skiing, scuba diving, etc. I ended up going with TriPlus - a great deal at $95 for a whole year.
- Update my shots. The CDC website has all the info on what shots you need. I was good on these given I was just in China in August.
- Put in my notice at work and finish any outstanding tasks. This involves saying goodbye and staying in touch with coworkers as well as making sure I don't miss out on the bonuses for 2006 that come out a week after I leave. It may not be much, but it will go a long way half way around the world.
- Get my finances in order. On top of traveler's checks, I figured out a great way to get money abroad cheaply. Opened an account with PNC bank, which has free, global ATM use. It's amazing. Ended up setting up a living will and granting power of attorney to the folks at their request. Finally paid off all my bills.
- Get some backpacking gear:


That's roughly what I brought. Some of it cost a bit, but I think it will be worth it. Let's just hope I didn't forget anything too important.

Off I go to the airport at 3a.m., Wednesday morning, after packing all night instead of sleeping. I probably should have taken more time to get ready, but I didn't want to be late for frisbee practice Thursday night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb