Shenanadoah Outfitters - Day 1 - Thursday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Luray
August 21st 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Only one more weekend before school starts. What a bummer. I can already feel the hot weather starting to ease up. There are lots of things I like about the fall, but summer is without a doubt my favorite time of the year. Oh well, there’s still time for one more giant fun-filled weekend! The destination is the Shenandoah River Outfitters Campground near Luray, VA. We had been there two years ago with Paul and Elaine and absolutely fell in love with the place. The campground sits about halfway down a 20 mile road that parallels a lazy section of the Shenandoah River and provides easy access to the water. It’s a river-rat’s dream.

We only began planning this trip about two weeks ago; somewhat spur-of-the-moment for us. We’ve decided to take two days off and make it a 4-day weekend. It will be our longest family tent-camping trip to date and also the maiden voyage of the new Jeep. As we’re getting packed, I’m thrilled to discover that I can fit both Kayaks and our storage box on top of the Jeep. I was unable to do this with the Pathfinder. As soon as Paige finishes her Kindergarten orientation, we get on the road. It always seems like we’re in such a rush to get on the road for vacations, but this time we’re in no hurry. We take our time, stop for lunch, take a few slight detours (thanks to me dragging the route around on Google Maps and not getting it back into the right place), and make it to the campground around 5:00pm.

Shenandoah River Outfitters does not take reservations. Sites are handed out on a first-come first-serve basis. Being Thursday, the place is still relatively empty, and we’re thrilled to discover that the best campsite in the whole place has just opened up. In fact, the coals in the fireplace are still hot from its last occupants. The site is very spacious and very private. I’m dying to get down to the river, but there’s still lots of work to be done. We barely get the car unloaded when Karin offers to finish setting up camp while I run for dinner. Sounds great to me, quicker we get setup, quicker we get down to the water! Unfortunately, the lady at the front desk gives me the wrong directions so the “quick trip” to the grocery store winds up taking nearly an hour. I feel bad for being gone so long, but by the time I return, Site #25 has been transferred into our own personal temporary home. The tents are staked, the kitchen and dining areas are setup, the beds are made, the clothesline is strung, the girls are playing happily, and Karin is tending to a roaring fire in the pit. I’m reminded once again how lucky I am.

We chow down some burgers and dogs, and head down to the water. The lady at the desk had told me it was “only a quarter mile walk down the path to the river”. I swore I could almost see the water as we began bounding towards the trailhead. Twenty minutes later it was starting to get dark and we finally reached the end of the ill-maintained trail. That was the furthest quarter mile I had ever walked. I decide that I will avoid asking the lady at the front desk any more questions. No sooner did we get to the river when Paige announced that she had to go potty. Karin started to head back with the girls and I fished for a short while. It is pitch black by the time we all got back.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb