3 Weeks and 2 Days To Go!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Fairfax
July 11th 2011
Published: July 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Bryon at Cap CityBryon at Cap CityBryon at Cap City

A guy at the bar was playing with his new ipad
The months have turned into weeks, and soon to be days. We are keeping firm on the date of August 3rd for departure, and are beginning to focus on tying down all loose ends and organizing possessions that we want to keep and eventually have shipped down to Ecuador (Or wherever we end up!).

I (Bryon, it will probably be me that writes all of the entries) just got back from buying my KLR. Its a 2005, with 13K miles on it. I am going to change out the front sprocket for one with an extra tooth to help with gas mileage. I may change the rear with one with a tooth or two less later, depending on how it affects the low-end power needed for trail riding (There will be plenty of this once we get to the Canadian Rockies).

The bike came with soft bags and a small rack to support them. I'm considering putting on hard panniers. I am probably going to use an old 70 liter rucksack across the rear seat with what-ever else that have stacked up on it. I am also going to take a smaller backpack that I can wear or strap to the bike. Most of what I'm taking is for camping, or motorcycle maintenance. I will only take a pair of jeans, a pair of shorts, a few t-shirts, a few pair of underwear and socks. Clothes wear out and can be replaced easily.

The restaurant where I bartend is closing at the end of the week (Saturday night! Anyone going to be in DC? Come on the night of Saturday, July 16th) I have a second job where I have been working lunches, and will go full time for the last 2 weeks before I go. I haven't told them that I'm leaving yet, I'm waiting until just 2 weeks before we go. I feel kind of bad, because they need me right now.

I'm thinking that the safest border to cross is going to be in California (This means that we will probably come see you Emilio & Oura!). From TJ we will hop down the coast until we cross over to Teotihuacan. Mexico is by far my biggest concern for our safety beyond our control.

I will try to post at least once a week until we go. If you want an email when I post a new entry, follow us here!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb