A quick getaway


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Damascus
May 26th 2008
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me!Me!Me!

After riding uphill for 18 miles, at Whitetop Station. Elevation at Damascus where I started was 1930 feet, Whitetop Station is the highest point of the trail at 3576 feet.
I decided late on Saturday night of Memorial Day weekend to take a little holiday to western Virginia with my bike. There's a trail that runs from Abingdon to just past Whitetop, through Damascus, called the Virginia Creeper Trail. It's about 34 miles long and follows the old railroad bed of the Virginia Carolina Railroad. It's a great shared-use National Recreation Trail that goes through the Mount Rogers National Recreation Area in the Jefferson National Forest. I got up Sunday and took the scenic route to Damascus where I started my ride to Whitetop and back. I fully enjoyed it...even with an 18 mile uphill climb the first day--1646 vertical feet. ***If you decide to go, most people rent a bike from one of the many bike shops in Damascus, take a shuttle to Whitetop, and coast back to Damascus and consider it done. (No, I didn't do it the easy way.)

As my reward for a long day's ride, I stayed at an "ok" Super 8 in Abingdon. Not the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in, but 100 times better than a couple of hostels I survived. :-) It had hot water in an en suite bathroom, clean sheets on the bed, and a window that opened, and those three things are quite important in my book! After a VERY long shower, I headed out for the real entertainment of the evening.

The Moonlite Drive-In was about 5 minutes from my hotel and it was showing Indiana Jones. I grew up going to the drive in about 5 minutes from my house in Ohio so it was nice to be able to go. (Oh, and Mom and Dad, just so you know, when I randomly come home this summer it will most likely revolve around which movies Skyview is showing!) The funniest thing was pulling into my spot next to the pole and it not having a speaker on it. Why keep the poles if none of the speakers are present?

I went back to the hotel and absolutely crashed. I've never ridden 35+ miles before, ridden 18 miles uphill before, and most certainly have never done both of these in the same day! But, I must say I was quite proud of myself for doing it.

Monday, I got up and got some breakfast and went to the Abingdon trailhead. The plan for the day was to ride from Abingdon to Damascus and back again. I only got rained on a little bit as the trees kept most of the water off of me. There were many beautiful vistas along the trail and I'd highly recommend it to others! I arrived back to Abingdon and then drove the 2 1/2 hours home to NC.

My trip was completely worth it, but I haven't been so happy to see my bed in a very long time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

A pretty viewA pretty view
A pretty view

of soon-to-be Christmas trees


14th June 2008

I LOVE Abingdon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
14th June 2008

wow, lots of miles
Mary, I am so impressed you rode 35 miles. good for you. i love reading your adventures. bit of good news from us- expecting a baby in october. little girl!
14th June 2008

Well done!
Your trip sounds great and I love the photos. But I can't see any hills - all looks pretty flat to me!! Did you REALLY cycle 18 miles uphill... you must have thighs of steel now! Look forward to seeing the next trip!
16th June 2008

Always the girl on the go!
Mary, I just caught up on your blogs. As always, I love how you just pick up and go... any where... any place! Also, your home looks great. You always did wonderful things with color. Please send me your number and I promise to call next time I'm in your neck of the woods. Maybe we could meet up in Old Salem one Saturday.

Tot: 0.385s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb