12 hour drive today


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Ashburn
June 9th 2004
Published: June 9th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Today I drove home from Ashburn, Virginia to Grand Rapids, Michigan.  Riding solo gives you plenty of time to think, listen to music, eat junk and get bored. 
In the town of Breezewood (Pennsylvania?), I encountered a huge swarm of cicadas.  I got out of my car to get some gas and I literally stepped on dozens of these dead creatures.  Their were hundreds of them aimlessly swarming the sky and two of them even made it into my car.  I had to roll up the windows and suffer the heat.
There was a semi that was flipped over just south of Detroit that delayed my trip for about an hour.  I was extremely bored for this hour as I just wanted to be home to visit my fiancee.
Made it to Grand Rapids around 8 pm and enjoyed a nice evening with Jamie.  I will be home for a couple of days before my next journey.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb