Traveling Vermont's scenic highways


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont » Burlington
October 17th 2011
Published: July 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 44.4758, -73.2132

Today's breakfast was the Green Mountain Omelet. This thing was huge
and filled with apples, sausage and Cabot cheddar. It was good, but I
could not eat it all. The lady said it was 3 eggs and they must be huge
eggs. I had plenty of time to take the scenic routes back to
Burlington as my plane didn't leave until 5:30. I drove up through
Smuggler's Notch again and continued along route 108. I then followed
the 15 to the 104 to the 104A to I-89. These country roads were all 2
lane and the speed limit was no higher than 50. Lots a beautiful views
of the farmland and mountains. The trees must have been so beautiful
the week before. Once I got back to the interstate, I decided to take
Hwy 2 across Lake Champlain onto Grand Isle. It was really windy and
cold out so I did a lot of hopping in and out of the car to take
pictures. Ferries cross Lake Champlain to New York. There is one that
leaves from the island and it runs all year round. I believe it is a 12
minute crossing. You can also continuing driving north on the 2 and
enter NY way up at the top before you cross into Canada. I did not
bring my passport so I did not drive all the way up. The lake offers
lots of nice scenery with the Adirondacks to the west and the Green
Mountains to the east. There is even a lake monster, Champ, that has
been sighted numerous times. Unfortunately, I did not see him!

I headed back to I-89 and south two exits to Burlington. There is
another ferry that runs out of Burlington, but it closed on the 10th so I
was not able to take it. It must be for tourists and I guess the
tourist season is over. I drove down to the waterfront through the
University of Vermont campus and the downtown area of Burlington. There
was free parking along the waterfront and a nice boardwalk and bike
path. I found a place with lower priced cheeseburgers and some pretty
good fries. I wanted to walk on the boardwalk for a bit, but it was
dripping and cold so I went to the aquarium. It seemed like a great
place for kids. There was a touch pool and lots of interactive displays
about the lake and the surrounding area.

I got bored with that and decided to just head for the airport. The
exit I had used to get to the waterfront was supposed to be the exit for
the airport, but there were no signs anywhere directing you. I ended
up stopping in a grocery store to get directions. It was in completely
the opposite direction I was going, but in the end, I found it. The
Burlington airport has free Wi-fi and there was no line at the check-in
counter or security! Now if only O'Hare could add free wireless and
figure out how to move people along faster! Now I have a 2 hour wait
until my plane leaves and then a 2 hour layover at JFK before I will
finally arrive in O'Hare at 11!

This Vermont trip was great. I was able to relax, see lots of beautiful
scenery and eat lots of delicious food. If I come again, I will make
it a week earlier, pay the higher hotel price and get to see more
foliage. I would recommend Stowe as a destination as it has easy access
to much of northern Vermont, has lots of little shops and places to eat
and is just quite charming. If you enjoy outdoor activities, there are
lots of those options for all seasons. The people were all friendly
and it was very easy to find your way around, other than getting back to
the airport! I would love to come again!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb