Lunar Eclipse, Nacogdoches County, Texas USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Nacogdoches
May 24th 2019
Published: May 24th 2019
Edit Blog Post

a dark place to watcha dark place to watcha dark place to watch

Tree Farm outbuilding
On January 20, 2019 I was invited to watch the Lunar Eclipse at Walters Tree Farm, about nine miles East of the City of Nacogdoches. I was there after sunset and was ready to shoot in a dark place behind the out building.

I shot a pic before the eclipse to show a pine tree and some oak trees. I started shooting with the stages of the eclipse and it was hit or miss with the pics that I show here. I got some halfway eclipse shots and a mostly eclipse pic using my inexpensive Walmart tripod.

This took a few hours, and by time of totality the moon was directly overhead; making my tripod useless. I used my zoom and free-handed some three second exposures of pics of totality. You'all know that we do not have three moons. That effect was cuz I could not hold camera completely still on a three second exposure free handed.

It was getting late and I did not stay to shoot the moon coming back out.

note: On April 8, 2024 there will be a total eclipse of the sun crossing through East Texas, I think including Cherokee County. I
pre-lunar eclipsepre-lunar eclipsepre-lunar eclipse

over pine tree
will be there.

Completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb