Construction


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Katy
March 2nd 2012
Published: March 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

There has been a variety of construction going on around my family for some time. Last year ITHM assisted Spring Valley Academy to start construction on the Talitha Koum Rescue Center. It is going to be a place where construction is done in the hearts as well as the minds of those who either come for counseling, to the medical clinic or who will reside there. The tools being love, medical care, books, mentoring, teaching, learning, growing. We want to see the "at risk" girls come into a place where the threat of demolition is removed.

Last fall we started talking about construction of a home for Johnny, Jonathan and I. For those who have followed our journey you know last year was taxing on us. After much consideration we made the tough decision to pack our belongings and head to Texas. We have been in transition for about seven months. During that time we picked our floor plan, traveled back and forth to be together (as Johnny was working overseas) and that little part of my gypsy heart felt fully satisfied.

Now my nesting has begun here in our home. Johnny was blessed with a great job right
here in Texas just three days short of leaving for Ethiopia for eight weeks. Gratitude is an understatement of how I feel. Jonathan goes two days a week to a "mommy's day out" pre-school class at a Christian Academy just one mile away. This is to help lay a good foundation for our son and to give me a chance to get some work accomplished.

All the while I am trying to maintain some sort of balance. I work on my home and I think of those who have none. I pray that God continues to have His scaffolding in my heart. I do not want to become too comfortable or complacent but I want to allow Him to expand the rooms of my heart so that I may encompass His vision for my life, His heart for others, His greatness in a place that could become mundane.

So, it is with excitement that I plan my upcoming trip to Kenya at the end of March. We are going to have a kick-off celebration for the progress of Talitha Koum. For all of those who have given for this project, thank you! I wish you could come celebrate with us! But since you can't, I will eat your piece of roasted goat meat (which is a traditional meal at a celebration) and pray you feel joy in your generosity.

My good friend Sheila will travel with me and we will also do some shopping so we can hold fund-raisers, selling handmade items, in the fall. Last fall Sheila hosted a Kenyan Holiday Mart and we made $3,000 profit...enough to feed and educate 300+ children for a month. If you are interested in hosting a Holiday Mart in the fall and are in Texas or Indiana, please let me know.

We are excited for the teams from Colorado and Texas that will go over and work hand in hand with both HOREC orphanage and Spring Valley Academy. I pray you come home all the richer with experiences that far outweigh anything money can purchase. Let me tell you, if you have never heard these children that have come from places of desperation stand up and sing with joy oozing out of their hearts...you are in for a special treat.

If you would like to donate items for the Talitha Koum Rescue Center we need single sized sheets, towels, wash cloths, hand towels, thermometers, bandages, stethoscopes, (basically anything for a medical clinic), etc. You can either mail these items to me or donate towards purchasing them.

I hope you will allow God to do His construction in your lives. He is the Master Architect so whatever He makes is beautiful (albeit sometimes painful). Yet, worth it.

Jeremiah 29:11

"For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future."

Thank you and God bless,

Jennifer Phillips Lawrence

If you would like to donate you can mail goods or a tax-deductible donation to:

ITHM

23223 S. Warmstone Way

Katy, Texas 77494

 


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Snack timeSnack time
Snack time

SV girls getting ready to cut avacados for the students.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb