Roswell NM to Henrietta TX 400 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Henrietta
February 25th 2014
Published: February 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Left Roswell with not a UFO in sight - too cold I suspect for aliens as the temperature was down to 37F. Quite a surprise since the temperature reached 85F in the east of California and had been a pleasant 65-75F for most of the rest of the trip, but as we shall see just the beginning. We headed east on 380 towards Lubbock, but had to stop in less than an hour as the cold had begun to seep in. Rob and I made a nice pair standing in the gas station convenience store with hot chocolates giggling in our shivering hands. Clearly this was going to be an issue. It was then, for me at least, that one of the best investments I had ever made came into play - the heated jacket. As later told the trip would have stopped then and there without it. So good was it that I did not want to stop and unplug myself. It created a sense of coziness that supplemented with good coverings on the extremities. Gloves my son had bought me a year or two ago, bless him, heated grips and study boots - life was good. By the time we reached Lubbock it was clear Rob would not be able to continue. We stopped to contemplate matters and it was there by chance that Google maps told us there was a Cajun restaurant not a few hundred yards away. Over gumbo and shrimp stir fry we contemplated out situation. So as to prolong the inevitable we moved on to buttermilk beignets (which were to die for). And so it was - over the years Rob and I have said goodbyes in several ways in several places but over the beignets was new. It was a sad moment.

Continuing alone my new friend was route 82 and we kept each others company well into the next day - with the usual tiffs that friends have as we shall see. It was not only Rob who is smart enough to run out of gas. I did my usual trick of no need to fill up here there will be a gas station a bit father along. By the time I reached Seymour the trusty BMW said I could go a further 3 miles before running out of gas. Thank goodness for the precision of German engineering. On the other hand if I had filled up earlier like a rational person I would have missed the joys of a gas station that also specializes in slow roasting porks somethings. The smell was to die for as was the semi toothless grin of the fellow who asked me "where are you from pardner." I have a lot of previous history with Texas, but those donkey wells and the good naturedness of folks who, lets face it, are quite different to me never disappoints.

Got as far as Henrietta as the light began to fade. Had a nice chat with a vet (not sure which war) who kept making reference to the antics of Aussies in the Philippines which should not be repeated here. Beyond that intimate knowledge was details of all the restaurants in town and the one hotel. The hotel just happened to be next to the Pecan Barn which aside from pecans was full of Texas paraphernalia and friendly Texan folk. I would not recommend pecans for dinner too often.

Advertisement



27th February 2014

Wishing you well on your journey
Stay safe Phil -- our thoughts are with you. Big hug from the Shmorhay clan.
28th February 2014

Thanks - that beer will have to wait till I return to SD.

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb