Day 24 El Paso to Ft Hancock 55 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » El Paso
October 12th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oct 12
Today I got up late and did not get underway till 10.30 am. A check on the bike reveals a broken spoke which means the wheel is slightly off true which means it is rubbing against the back brake, I can't fix this so I op for disconnecting the back brake till I get to the next bike shop about 150 miles away . I think this happened riding the bumpy sidewalks of El Paso, I must check my equipment more often, I think I have been lucky so far.
The wind is side on at first then behind me so I cover the last 24 miles of the journey in record time, the scenery is flat , nothing to write home about - so I wont ! Into Fort Hancock, a bleak town if ever there was one, a cheap and grubby motel will be my home tonight as there is no camping for miles.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb