Library and then back to DFW


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas
November 4th 2016
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 32.778, -96.7956

On Friday morning, David did not go to school. Ellen wanted him to be able to spend more time with his "Grammie". I fixed b'fast for the kids. I made instant oatmeal and then Lucy, Emily and David were still hungry, so I poured some cold milk and cereal for them to have.

Ellen wanted to take the kids to the library to participate in the 10:30 story time for the 2 oldest. However, before we could get to the library, we needed to look for the Library books and video to return. Evidently, there was one CD that they hadn't been able to find. All the kids (with a few distractions), focused on trying to find the "Lost" CD. In the mean time, Ellen was able to "straighten up" the rooms as she was looking for the lost CD.

We did get to the Story-time just in time. There was a puppet show. And the librarian read 2 books about bears and hibernation. Ellen had Lucy outside of the special room, since the Story time was only for 3,4 and 5 year old.

The kids listened to the story. David was a little frigidity, and the librarian had to remind him to sit still.

After the Story-time, we headed to the Littleton Train station, which was just about.5 miles from the Library. I had checked my schedule "on-line" and noticed that there was a train leaving at 11:43am. I had to purchase my tickets and cross the tracks, so I said goodbye to Ellen and the kids in the car. I purchased the tickets with cash, and it only cost me 4.50 for a train (light rail) to Union Station including the transfer out to the airport. I arrived at Union Station and had to walk about 1 block to the A line that takes me out to the airport. I had just enough time to go to the bathroom, then get on the train. The next train left at 12:30pm and I was set to go. As the train got closer to DEN airport, the train was full of luggage and baggage and those travelers heading out of DEN to parts all over the USA.

Karen texted me, and I talked to her for 25minutes as I was heading to DEN. We talked about movies and such. Once I arrived at the airport, I took a huge long escalator up to the top. And since the security check point had such a long line, I decided to walk the length of the terminal to the other side of the airport to check in. I had not checked luggage, just my "pull behind". Also, I was 'pre-checked, TSA approved". I love it. The line wasn't long at all.

I went to the UA terminal by 1:30pm, and inside the United Club (compliments of our UA credit card) a few hours early. They serve lunch up there, so I grabbed me a bowl of hot soup and a nice fresh salad. I situated myself overlooking the plans parked at the gates. Fascinating operations to see all the baggage trucks drive by, the guys directing the incoming planes.

After a good lunch, I situated myself on the other side of the United Club lounge, and "fired up my computer". I was able to read all my emails and answer some and do some other navigating on the web.

I did visit with a few folks. There was a table next to me, where 4 old ladies (probably around the age of 70) were playing cards. I asked if they could watch my stuff as I had to go to the bathroom. The ladies were flying back home to Arcadia, California from Springfield, Mo (Bronson, MO) Nice ladies. One of the ladies use to work at the college where Kay Libolt works.

I got on the 5:30pm flight to Dallas. I was on the VERY last row. Interesting fact on UA, the planes are not equipped with TV monitors. Instead, you sign on to UA.com once in the air, and you can check which movies you want to watch. I wanted to watch the movie "JOY", but because of engine noise, it was just too loud and I couldn't hear the script.

Once I arrived at DFW, I took the Skylink over to terminal D where Glenn parked the RAV 4 the day before. Then I texted g'daddy to let him know that I was in the RAV 4, and I also got a text from Melissa saying that Aunt Hattie was in the restaurant with them. I wrote back saying that I would be there in 35 minutes.

I got to the hotel and helped Aunt Hattie into the RAV 4 with her luggage. Once we got to 9511, I parked in the front to let Aunt Hattie out. Then I re-parked my RAV 4 inside the garage. I think G'mommy and G'daddy were happy to see her. I think everyone went to be around midnight.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb