Let the Countdown Begin!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas
August 8th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sooooo right now I'm still in the (relatively) tame locale of Dallas, Texas, but I am doing so much reading on Ghana and Africa and a variety of potential research topics that I feel like I am already in the "field," that is, GHANA!! I am going to be arriving in Accra, the capital of Ghana, on September 1, 2006. Even after all the reading and websearching I have done, I still don't know what to expect... which is thrilling. I will be there for 3 and a half months through the School for International Training (SIT). From what I know about the program we will just be immersed in to the Ghanaian culture, starting with a homestay about a week after we arrive. Like the dork I am, I have already started practicing the language. Even though the "official" language is English, I want to be able to speak (what I think is) the "people's" language. My worst fear is being called an "obruni" !! (Wow, I just got the feeling that I will be looking back over this many months from now and thinking "worst fear, confirmed." Nooo! hahaa - stay tuned to find out!)

So for the next few weeks I will be visiting as many people as I can in the States. I just said goodbye to my twin sister, Melanie which was pretty sad. I won't be seeing her again until December = we won't be celebrating our birthday together! :*(

Anyway, here is the schedule:
Dallas til tomorrow
August 9-14: Austin, Texas visiting my dad
August 14-22: Houston, Texas visiting my boyfriend, friends, and taking care of stuff at Rice
August 22-25: New York City with Priya and Rachel Green aka my future roomies for Spring 2007 aka R.Kelli Katari 😊
August 25-28: Philadelphia, PA visiting my mom's side of the family
August 28-30: Brielle and Freehold, NJ visiting my dad's side of the family
August 31: NEW YORK CITY ---> flight to Accra (via Amsterdam) leaving at 10 pm that night!!!


Advertisement



6th September 2006

Wonderful Talking To You
Bean, It was great being able to talk to you today. Sounds like you are adjusting quite well to Ghana in genral and the lack and/or unreliability of mocern conveniences. Glad the weather is good and that you survived your frolic in the mighty Atlantic. Big Krystal-Alex wedding tomorrow and big UT-Ohio State game on Saturday. Thanks for keeping in touch. Love, Dad

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb