A Scare


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas
April 27th 2009
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's $US55, but worth every penny! I came here to Sleep Inn in Irving, TX last night around 12:30AM local time. They sent a shuttle to the airport for me and one other couple. I found this place through a brochure at the airport listing a toll free number for "Choice Inns". Getting here was a bit more complicated that it should have been because I had no coins for the pay phone, and I had to call this location directly to arrange pickup. It's the first time I've used VISA to make a local call, but my Sasktel calling card number would not work here. Anyway, I had a room with a king size bed, great shower, and many other trimmings. This morning the continental breakfast allowed me to make myself a hot waffle, had two kinds of juice on tap, and muffins, bagels, instant oatmeal, etc. I'm pretty full now! This free computer with internet is in the lobby just outside the breakfast space.

I decided to look for a hotel late last evening when I was unable to access the many comfortable seats on the second level (past the check in area), and then discovered that my flight today is scheduled for 16:30, not this morning as I had somehow thought. I just wasn't up to spending all night and then most of the day at the airport. It was almost like heaven having a huge private room. a bed with five fluffy pillows, cable TV, etc. I only slept about six hours, but I feel so much better and will probably ahve a nap before I elave at noon. There is also a small indoor pool and hot tub, but I doubt I'll use them - I don't know when they open.

Yesterday turned out to be an experience. As I said in my last entry, I had no trouble at all entering Mexico. But getting out was another thing. The whole country, and especially the city and airport, are on high alert because of the swine flu virus. And staff have been instructed to be on watch for anyone looking sick. Well, as most of you know, I've been coughing for 40 years. And I seem to have contracted a bit of a respiratory infection just prior to leaving Xela - am coughing a bit more than usual. This time of the year in Guatemala there is a lot of "polvi" (duct) and smoke in the air (they still do a fair bit of burning crop residues prior to planting.) So respiratory infections are very common there right now. Traditionally the rainy season (winter) would have begun, but the climate is changing and the rains are not coming as early as they once did.

Now I know I don't have swine flu. I was only in Mexico 8 hours, and I have none of the other symptoms that go with it (no sore throat, fever, headache or other aches and pains). But since I was flying Mexicana Air, they have been instructed to keep a close eye on anyone who seems not well, and the obviously heard me coughing. For some reason they were searching people's carry-on bags and scanning them again at the time of boarding. So the searched my bags, but then the head guy instructed to woman who was scanning not to do me, and indicated I should stand to one side. Since I was one of the last to board (I had an aisle seat almost at the front so saw no reason to rush on board), it was not long before a woman behind the counter who spoke a bit of English came ans started asking me about my cough. Of course I told her it was normal, but the airline called for a doctor, who took at last a half hour to get there. Since we were already last boarding, it was way past take-off time when he arrived. A nurse took my blood pressure, temperature and pulse before the doctor finally declared me free of swine flu. What a relief! Even though they had assured me it was just policy, and in fact had accepted my boarding pass before the doctor got there, I was still afraid they might leave without me and I would be stuck with a Mexican health process (where I might just get swine flu!) Luckily I did not cough much while we were waiting. Another much younger guy, who was perhaps flying stand by as he was never inside the tape marking the departure area, came on board after I did. I have a feeling he was sick because he was trying to sleep, but tossing and turning, went to the bathroom twice, and refused supper. Thank goodness he decided to sit in the row ahead of me instead of in the window seat beside me. It was interesting that I had three seats to myself and so did he just in front of me. I don't know if they rearranged passengers to make that possible but it was great! Two of the three seats behind me were also empty, as were others in the area. I was in the second row of the cheap seats on both Mexican flights yesterday. Today I will not be so lucky.

Another (hopefully minor) concern has arisen this morning. There is severe weather in the area, including heavy rain and high winds, with tornado watches not far away. It sounds like the worst of the storm is moving east, but there could be delays I suppose. My next job is to check the Air Canada flight schedule. But at the moment I am feeling fine (OK, a bit tired) and all is well. The shuttle will return me to the airport whenever I want, which will probably be around noon as that is checkout time here. Maybe the weather will distract them from the swine flu worry! So far the US abd Canada have not issued any travel restrictions so I should not have a problem, but I do plan to see a doctor when I get to Toronto in case there is something I can take for my respiratory infection. So far its just Vitamin C, echinesia, and Halls!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.11s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb